We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Convenient” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Pickerington, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Convenient”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

This hotel was close to the two high schools where my grandson was playing basketball in an
AAU tournament. The room was clean, and comfortable. The air conditioner worked fine.
The breakfast was good ( two types of waffles) and the service was fine. The hotel is also
convenient to many good restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donmil2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    39
    19
    8
    6
See reviews for
45
24
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Being in the hotel business myself, I can say with 100% certainty that was the best nights sleep I have had in a hotel in a very long time. The room was very comfortable and clean. The staff was very friendly and accommodating! I would definitely stay here AGAIN!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed here for three days with softball team. Had a reasonable price and as always you get what you pay for. Rooms were clean and big enough, breakfast bar was your usual cereal, fruit , eggs and waffle, same everyday. Fresh paint, wallpaper, new curtains and bedspreads and this hotel could charge more and would get a higher rating. The hotel staff is helpful and polite. Would not want to stay here if I had to be in the room for long peroids of time but to run in and shower, go to dinner and come back and sleep it was ok. Remember that it only has 2 floors and no elevator for guest, so pack light if you have an upstairs room or find a way to use the elevator that the maids use.

Room Tip: Only has two floors and no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ohiogirl83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

The rates were great, Staff was exemplary! Certainly would stay here again. Did not participate in the free continental breakfast, but it certainly appeared more then adequate (We prefer full breakfasts, so we ate out). Very clean, quiet and friendly hotel. Well maintained pool and pool area. We had NO issues with this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pdljmpr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Had a top notch time at this hotel,over the top friendly staff.
Safe parking with lots of room.
Ms. Teel was more than helpful in every way.
Will be there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

I had booked a king, but since all of them are on the ground floor and I prefer upstairs, I changed to a room with two queens. For some reason, this reduced my rate a bit.

Since I often have a bit of internet work to do, the connection speed is important and I was not disappointed here.

Breakfast was adaquate and I often choose this chain because they have the Wall Street Journal.

Room Tip: Front rooms are noisy. No elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennington, Nebraska
Level Contributor
139 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

Had to stay here on family business and spent little time in the room itself.

Check-in was very friendly, even though it was very late. Saw the same staff every day of our trip - different people in the a.m., afternoon and evening. All of the them very friendly and helpful. Resolved a room issue immediately upon check-in.

Room was good sized and faced the back of the property, away from the highway. Bed was comfortable, although I would have appreciated a variety of pillows (soft, firm), since there were a lot of pillows available. Room was clean, except for along the edges. (That seems to be a theme this trip, sorry!)

Bathroom shower was very nice, clean. Amenities very budget grade - facial tissue disintegrated with the least amount of moisture - since it's very humid in the area, I noticed that right away. Stopped at a CVS and got some of my own and that solved that issue.

Free USA Today and Wall Street Journal. Wireless connection was kind of odd - typical sign-in protocol would seem to work and then disappear. Took 2 - 3 tries to get the system to work. After the system accepted the sign-in, it was good for 24 hours; then we got to go through the protocol problems again. Wireless kind of slow. Very noticeable when we had to get work done from the room through our employers' secure servers. Media-heavy websites didn't load, so don't think of watching a movie on your laptop.

No business center to print out work materials or boarding passes.

Breakfast was pathetic. The front desk person explained that they were having their (food?) license renewed, so had to shut down the cooked/hot food portion for two weeks. I saw the same peeled hard boiled egg sitting out all 3 days of our trip (had a nick that exposed the yolk, so it was recognizable). Juice often was out. The front desk person did re-stock the Danish every hour or so, as those were fresh and tasty - and in demand. There's some kind of breakfast place (waffles, omelets, etc.) every 2 blocks or so on this strip of highway, so one could walk to a breakfast place easily.

This is a very expensive area to stay in, even off-season. I think the Comfort Inn provided what we needed for a reasonable price, and the food may be better at other times of the year. As I said, the staff can't be beat for friendliness and helpfulness.

Room Tip: Rooms away from highway are quieter. True smoke-free rooms only on 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PlainsWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfside Beach
1.1 mi away
Surfside Beach Resort
Surfside Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Surfside Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plantation Resort
Plantation Resort
#2 of 5 in Surfside Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Murrells Inlet/Myrtle Beach Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
2.7 mi away
Garden City Inn
Garden City Inn
#5 of 6 in Murrells Inlet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 1201 US Hwy 17N, Surfside Beach, SC 29575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Surfside Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Surfside Beach
Surfside Beach Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing