We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice suprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mon Cafe

Mon Cafe
Ranked #60 of 133 Restaurants in Sumter
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice suprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We had lunch here one Saturday afternoon.

What a nice suprise. The food and service were awesome.

We had a couple of bowls and the wife had a sushi roll. All were excellent with plenty of flavor.

We will go back again

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    11
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sumter, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hospitality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The food is great and fairly priced for the amount you get. The service is very friendly and the help you order what you want.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fan4Charleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
129 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Quick and Cheap Hibachi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

The bowls are the way to go. Large amout of food. The combinations are good too. The steak was not very tender. The shrimp was good, the chicken was fine if you like teriyaki (I don't)! This is much cheaper than a traditional hibachi restaurant. The sauces were awesome!! they don't cook in front of you but it has a glass you can look thru and see the cook. It is very fast and hot food. My only worry was the B rating from the health department. Not sure what that's all about but I didn't see anything that gave me a scare.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mommytomykids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good, filling, quick lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We go to Mon every time were in Sumter.one of the better lunch options, but can be a bit pricey (10-15$ for lunch). Sushi and combo platters are good and filling. Have some good dipping sauces too.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bryan_n_Bec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Georgia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good Japanese cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Had lunch with coworker and I was pleasantly surprise to the quality of the food served here. It is setup as a fast food restaurant but the food is prepare while you wait. Definable recommend.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yardman71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing