We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surpassed My Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Sumter
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Sumter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Check in was efficient and professional. Hotel was clean; hallways, elevator and my room...which was a huge King suite. Some Holiday Inns use the term "suite" too loosely. This one was very spacious.

Location was close to restaurants and shopping. Breakfast area is large and food options included hot items. I typically stay at the Hampton Inn next door but the Holiday Inn surpassed my expectations. Will stay at HI next time work takes me back to Sumter.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camalot50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 118 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012

We traveled to Sumter to attend a soccer tournament in which our grandson was participating. The Holiday Inn Express was our choice from among several hotels in this general category. The stay was uneventful -- which I consider a good thing. The foom was clean and comfortable, the wireless Internet worked as it was supposed to, and we were within walking distance of several restaurants. I would recommend this facility to anyone. The desk clerk appeared to be working on a personal project, but responded to questions in a pleasant way. Breakfast was plentiful. The cinnamon rolls were good!! We had no complaints and would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: I have no pointers on this. We had stayed here a couple of years ago, and based on only two stays I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimS90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

My wife and I decided to stay here because it was right next to Outback Steakhouse. We also prefer to stay at Holiday Inn Express since we are Priority Club members. The breakfast was awesome and the beds were super comfortable. Overall, my stay was excellent and the price was right.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jason989801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

The overwhelming smell of disinfectant was what hit you upon walking in. Though the beds were very comfortable the room's carpet was in need of repair. The hot breakfast was plentiful...however...the shutting down completely of the "lounge"/dining area to total darkness after breakfast took away a great spot to curl up and read or watch TV. When a suggestion was made about having hot coffee available I was fluffed off. There was a problem with using our key card on the back door to get in . The sign stating access available with your key card. My husband learned it was due to the door handle having to be pushed UP not DOWN, as is the usual motion. We brought this to the front desk and he said:" It was a security issue." ???? We suggested a permanent sign..and he said: " we have put signs up and they blow away.....". Please! Our keyes did not work on the second day of our paid stay and we had to go and get them redone. Our friends room was never made up...for the next day...We understand that these may be considered small things...but if the small things are not adressed properly...what happens to the larger ones. A simple : "Thank you for bringing this to our attention" would have gone a lot farther then the excuses that were given. Who trains these people? (How to diffuse a disapointed guest....".

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bfzebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Sumter, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear bfzebra,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Kindly accept our sincerest apology for the disappointment and the inconvenience you had with our facilities as well as your room accommodations and the poor service you received during your stay. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Based on reviews I picked this hotel. It's not the worst I've stayed at just not the best. Rooms were fairly clean but not what I would call clean clean. Maintenance needed at hotel, buildup in corners, dust on lamp shades, vents, etc. Beds were clean and bathroom was fairly clean except in corners and around crevices. I always clean in the bathroom with cleaner for my piece of mind everywhere. Workout facility--Key wouldn't let us in and staff was not concerned with this. Never got in. The indoor pool was ok but moisture collects everywhere in pool room which is starting to mold. Health hazzard. Front desk is not helpful, not unpleasant just not helpful. All in all, I wouldn't stay here again, but if it was the only choice I probably would. Breakfast was standard.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bubbie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Sumter, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Bubbie2,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment the bed and the bathroom.

However We’re sorry you received service from our housekeeping and for our staff not being helpful which was unacceptable. We will address this points and assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

It's tough to go wrong at a Holiday Inn Express. They lived up to their reputation. Rooms were clean, price was fair and the breakfast was excellent. This would be my recommended place in Sumter its right next to Outback so you can walk to dinner. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottH040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

First of all, this place is clean. The bed was super comfy and clean. Carpet was clean. Employees were friendly. The thing that blew me away was the hot breakfast. Now, this place had the typical Holiday Inn Express food but it was better. Not only that, but they served bacon AND sausage AND ham. Who does that? The eggs were hot. Anything you wanted, they had it. The orange juice was not watered down. The breakfast room had plenty of tables and chairs.
Very reasonable on the pricing for this room too. I think we paid $77.
I have one complaint...we only got to stay one night. I would have loved a longer stay!

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunnyLeeT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sumter hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Sumter
Hampton Inn Sumter
#2 of 19 in Sumter
369 reviews
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Sumter
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Sumter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#15 of 19 in Sumter
74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sumter
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#12 of 19 in Sumter
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Sumter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Sumter

Address: 2490 Broad St, Sumter, SC 29150-1858
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Sumter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Sumter
Price Range: $90 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express - Sumter 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sumter South Carolina. Our hotel in Sumter, SC is near Shaw Air Force Base, International Paper, Pilgrims Pride, McEntire Air National Guard, Sumter Palmetto Tennis Complex, Becton Dickenson, Caterpillar and Sumter Exhibition Center. The Holiday Inn Express is located right next to Outback Steakhouse and across from Wal-Mart Super Center. Our clean and comfortable accommodations in Sumter, SC include a full hot breakfast, sleeper sofa, micro-fridge, iron & board, hair dryer, coffeemaker, 27' television, two speaker phones, voicemail, alarm clock and free high speed Internet access. We also feature a fitness center, a business center, a guest laundry and to make your stay even more relaxing we offer an indoor heated pool and outside patio. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure Stay Smart in Sumter, South Carolina and make the Holiday Inn Express Sumter Hotel your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Sumter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Sumter Hotel Sumter
Holiday Inn Sumter
Sumter Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing