We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Hospitality and Good Food”

Simply Southern Bistro
Ranked #3 of 133 Restaurants in Sumter
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Phone:(803) 469-8502
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Southern Hospitality and Good Food”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stopped in here in transit, for a late lunch. The "half" size shrimp and grits was so rich and delicious it was almost more than I could eat. People were very friendly. Well worth a stop for a casual lunch or dinner.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TN4th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    47
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Skip the Chain Restaurants”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Find this place and visit for good home cooking. Soups were excellent and entrees made with love. Smaller portions available if your appetite or budget dictate.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bahama_Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, SC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Simply Southern Bistro”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The food is superb and the service excellent. A place I go over and over again. The chef/owner is always on site so he oversees every order.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank veekayray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Upscale Downhome eats”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

A little hard to find, but well worth it. Don't let the small strip mall location stop you. The food is delicious, made from scratch and served with a smile. It's a small cozy place with booths. Seemed like a number of regulars the night we were there and we ended up chatting not only with the owners, but also with other patrons. This really is a charming, clean, neat, well run, small restaurant. A welcome relief from chains. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and the food.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank lpw101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monchs Corner, SC
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A true gem in Sumter!”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Today we had a most wonderful lunch at Simply Southern Bistro! From the minute we walked in we were warmly greeted and made to feel at home. The menu had a wonderful list of items and I just had to try the southern pie, fried green tomatos and sweet potato. My husband had the fried pork chops and fries with onion gravy on the side. The food was wonderful and the server was very friendly and provided excellent service to our table. Anyone that travels to Sumter must stop in. The dishes are very reasonably priced, the food is great and the staff there is excellent!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simply Southern Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Simply Southern Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing