We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WISH I COULD MOVE IN!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sumter

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sumter
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Sumter
Richmond, KY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“WISH I COULD MOVE IN!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Conveniently located to Air Force Base, mall and major highways. Starting with the reservations, the check-in, the sparkling pool, the breakfast and the housekeeping ladies, I could not have asked for a lovelier stay. I have been to the Country Inn twice and will return again with my friends next time. THANK YOU EVERYONE!

Room Tip: 2nd floor is always best! Don't hesitate to notify management of any dissatisfaction; they will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpinachSister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    40
    38
    17
    37
See reviews for
79
12
10
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

I had made reservations in advance and set price. When I arrived the front desk attendent informed me that the manager/owner of hotel would not honor price because of it being on the weekend. Very rude!! This hotel has done this to me more than once and I guess I should have learned. Way too noisy...room condition is average at best. Other hotels in the area will be getting my business.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blackjrb62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casey U, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sumter, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Hello John Black,

As we talked before, We have account with your company (CLC), in which you get a room at 45% discount when you're traveling for work but this was leisure trip.

We would still give you 20-25% discount since you're the same guest. I am so sorry about whole thing. We never heard anything about room condition or noise, should this happen please let us know so that we can take immediate appropriate steps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sumter hotels

Sumter, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Hotel was booked by on line travel agency. Room was booked for four nights, and pre-paid. If it had not been for that we would have checked out once we got to the room and found out they cannot de-feather the bed. Hotel cannot accommodate individuals allergic to feather pillows. Had to go by some pillows. On the first nite people were talking loud in the halls pass 1 a.m. Called the fromt desk four times, no assistance. I had to go out and ask them to quiet down. Didn't help and the desk clerk didn't do anything about it. On the second day, the elevator broke, and again people was making noise and drinking on the second floor. Called the clerk twice noise calmed down but picked up again around 11:00 p.m. This was one of the worst hotel stay ever and it's not worth the money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casey U, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sumter, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to complete your reponse for Country Inns & Suites. In reviewing your response I noticed areas where you rated us below what I consider to be acceptable. I wanted to make sure that you feel your comments were heard and make sure the areas that you found unacceptable are corrected.
My staff and I would like to apologize sincerely for your experience and hope that you will give us another try if your ever in the area again.
Please feel free to contact me directly if your travel brings you back to the area, and I will make sure that we will meet and exceed your expectations.
Thank you again for taking the time to respond, and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Our stay at Holiday Inn was very comfortable.
Here is what we liked
Breakfast spread was good and had vegetarian varieties
Rooms are clean and quite comfortable
Staff is helpful and courteous
MRT trains are not in walking distance though Bus stops are conveniently located
Complimentary Shuttle to Orchard Road is useful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Sachin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

I Stayed several times at this place and always had a very good experience. Great service and clean rooms.I am glad that I found a good hotel after having bad experiences at other hotels across the street.
Staff at this hotel is very good and courteous.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

As I look at other reviews it is very ironic that a hotel would get horrible reviews during the same weekend from two different customers. First off the customer service sucks. It took me 35 min to check (already had reservations). There was only one person in front of me. Room was ok however the carpet was stained. There was bumping and hammering going on all thru the night. I woke up at 8am to a drilling noise from the next room. I called the desk and made a complaint. The front desk rep told me work is getting done to the room and the handy man has untl 12 noon to finish. I thought I was in the twight light zone. The front desk rep explained to about a problem that had absolutly nothing to do with the level of service im expecting when im a paying customer. My family left room eairly the next morning around 930am. We did not arrive back to the hotel until 11pm. As im comming in I ask the front desk rep for extra towels, she said one min. Well that one min turned into 40min. She could not find clean towels for 40min. As im.waiting in the lobby my wife calls from the room and say no one cleaned the room. The was exactly the same way we left it that morning. This hotel sucks. Im going to go back to bed before the drilling starts





  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyswiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casey U, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sumter, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
I am so sorry for your disappointment as the renovation person came in at 9:00 to get start the work as we are upgrading. I am sorry about other issues as I like to compensate for this trouble. Please email me at cx_susc@countryinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, SC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Some how our reservation was messed up. We did not get the 2 room suite that we reserved and paid for. The desk attempted to find us a suite, but they were all booked. She said only the GM could handle the rate difference, and that we could call him on Tuesday when he came in, this is 6 days after our stay. In addition to the reservation issue, the room itself was very much in need of some TLC. The room has stains on the carpet and the bathroom was not clean. I am very disappointed in this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank USCangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casey U, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sumter, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
I would like to again apologize for all your trouble with your reservation. I thank you for taking the time to write a review expressing your concerns. ALL feedback in areas where we can improve is welcomed. I'm glad to know all the billing issues have been resolved. However, should you further concerns and/or questions, please don't hesitate to call or email me at cx_susc@countryinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sumter hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 19 in Sumter
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Sumter
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Sumter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Sumter
Hampton Inn Sumter
#2 of 19 in Sumter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Sumter
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 19 in Sumter
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sumter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sumter

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sumter
Address: 2491 Broad Street, Sumter, SC 29150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Sumter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Sumter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sumter 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sumter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing