We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, friendly, helpful staff, clean - thought we were in a "five-star"!”
Review of Sleep Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Sumter
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great value, friendly, helpful staff, clean - thought we were in a "five-star"!”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Clean, fresh-looking, friendly - really seemed like we were in a much more expensive hotel as far as physical appearance goes. But the staff were friendlier and more helpful!! Really nice "Happy Hour" reception at the "partner" hotel next door - to which we had access!! If we travel the route again, we'll DEFINITELY choose the Sumter, SC Sleep Inn!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Proudpapa144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobbie O, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share in your experience with us! I am delighted that you had a positive experience! We do appreciate your business and we look forward to having the chance to serve you again. Thanks for noticing our Great Staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    13
    5
    12
    9
See reviews for
12
11
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oak Island, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I travel quite a bit. The Sleep Inn in Sumter is always clean and nice. The staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel appears to be new and well kept. I always stay there when in the area because the rooms are good and the price is reasonable.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Last weekend we traveled to Sumter, SC for a wedding for a good family friend. They had received an $84 group rate for the Comfort Inn for the wedding guests. Upon arrival, we had learned that a soccer tournament was in town and that a few of the wedding guests were moved to the adjoining Sleep Inn (by Comfort Inn). As a background, the two hotels are adjacent and share a pool etc.and they are owned by the same company.

Upon checking out, we noted on our invoice that the hotel had charged us $94 per night. While only $10 difference upon principle, we questioned the difference in price. The attendant on duty notified us that he had already ran our credit card and was unable to change it. He informed us that he would leave a note for the manager to call us. The next day the manager called us and said that because it was not booked directly with Sleep Inn, she would not be refunding us the difference. Although it was only $20 (two nights), on principle and due to the lack of customer service, I emailed "Sleep Inn" corporate -- who sent the email back to the same manager that had called. Further, the wedding party had booked the rooms "in block" at Comfort Inn and the hotel had split up the wedding party. I received the following curt response back from the same manager. I was just shocked that the manager (nor the Company) refused to refund back $20 -- this would have gone a long way with creating goodwill with me and my husband. Now, based on this (on principle) and the lack of customer service from the manager, we will not be staying at this particular hotel or any other hotel in the chain. The manager's unprofessional (lacking in customer service) email response is below:

I am aware of your comment you sent to Choice. As I stated Comfort and Sleep are two separate properties. They had a group block that dropped off a month prior to the arrival date. This was the time everyone should have made their reservations. Any reservations after that would be regular rate for all guest. That is the policy at Comfort. I rented you a room at our regular rate and not under the group block because this property did not have the wedding group contract blocked here. You did use your triple A card which gave you a 10% off the rate. Again sorry that you were unhappy with your stay.

Tina Merritt

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tiff_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sumter hotels

Morganton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

This hotel is supposed to be a non-smoking hotel. We were placed on the first floor and at 6 am were awakened by the very strong odor of cigarette smoke. Since there is supposssedly a $150 fee for smoking, we got up and went to the desk clerk and had him follow us to our room to smell for himself and see that we were not the ones smoking. The smell was so strong, it was difficult to sleep. He told us he would contact the mangger and have an adjustment made on our room. Again at 9 am it came back. We got up and went to breakfast and stopped by the desk once again. We were informed that the manager would give us a $4 discount on our room for the inconvenience. Seems strange that they will charge someone $150 to smoke in a non-smoking area but are only willing to give a $4 discount. We told them to keep the money and we would be sure to find different accomodations on our next trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisaacuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

I was so disapointed and in shock when i went to the sleep inn in sumter S.C i have stayed at many sleep inn in different states i could not be that was a suppose to be a sleep inn. the rooms are extremely small, dark, with hosipital lights that are over the bed. the room service staff are very slow our room wasn't clean until 2:30 in the afternoon. the bathroom is very small with a stand up shower it reminds me of a out door bathroom. It is not the typical Sleep Inn.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dariusrose2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2010

We arrived to friendly service and a relatively nice lobby...and then we went to our room. This was our first time staying at a Sleep Inn, so I'm not sure if all these hotels are the same, but the decor and room features were truly outdated and even kind of strange. No lamps (odd fluorescent lights in random places instead)? A VCR? Lots of telltale signs this place hadn't been renovated in many years, including a rusty brass walk-in shower and a sliding bathroom door that we could barely close. But okay, we got a great rate and didn't expect the Four Seasons. However, before we went to sleep that night, we pulled back the covers to see dirty sheets (crusty food, ink stains, you name it), and when we opened the fridge to store our late-night pizza, there were crumbs and other food particles that had been there for who knows how long. We were also consistently uncomfortable...our room was so humid that the bill they slid under our door the next morning was actually wet. The muggy summer weather in Sumter, SC was more comfortable than our room, which really tells you how miserable we were! Anyway, we will not stay at a Sleep Inn again, unless someone really proves us wrong and tells us that we had a very rare experience.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roo216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2009

We arrived during the worst thunderstorm we have ever experienced. The staff were welcoming, helpful and very friendly. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was quite good and offered a good choice of fare. This is a good choice of hotel whether you are passing through or want to discover the historic town of Sumter. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_and_MBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sumter hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Sumter
Hampton Inn Sumter
#2 of 19 in Sumter
343 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 19 in Sumter
79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#14 of 19 in Sumter
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Sumter
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Sumter
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sumter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Property: Sleep Inn
Address: 2510 Broad St, Sumter, SC 29150-1851
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Sumter
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Sumter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Sumter
Sumter Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing