We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent enough hotel, staff needs work” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Sumter

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn Sumter
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Sumter
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Decent enough hotel, staff needs work”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2010

We stayed here for a USC-Tennessee game, and we got a jacuzzi room, which was a nice touch, but the room (particularly the bathroom) was clearly in pretty bad repair, and cleanliness was only so-so.
The worst part was check-in. The woman at the front desk was sitting in the lobby watching TV with what appeared to be her boyfriend (may have been an employee but with no uniform or nametag) when we arrived. She didn't say one word until she needed my drivers' license and then she said "I need to see your license" and when I showed it to her "you need to take it out and give it to me"--and then she didn't say another word. Neither did any other employee for 2 days.
Hotel was decent, but for the money next time I'll pay the extra to stay closer to the stadium.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ssh23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    74
    48
    28
    13
See reviews for
100
56
25
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tifton, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2010

Me and teenage daughter decided to take a spontainious road trip from south GA to S.C. to visit family, just packed, hoped in the car and went... after such a long drive, then meeting family for church party, it was late when we decided to find a room... this was an awesome comfy place with to die for pillows and bedding... I just melted into the bed it was so great. This place has an outdoor pool and nice comp. breakfest, just usual waffle, bagel, cereal, fruit, yogurt and drinks... I would most diffently stay here again if in the area. Great value for great comfy spot. Thanks.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

For a weekend wedding, we had a number of hotel choices in Sumter. At the time of booking, none seemed to have a slamdunk tripadvisor review. We chose the Hampton Inn based on price and past stays at some of the chain's other properties. Everyone we encountered was cordial, professional and the property was well maintained. We stayed two nights and must say that the Hampton Inn bed is so very comfortable! There is only one gripe: wireless internet service...slow as molasses. There is a business center, which we didn't use, that might have speedier service. This was the only reason it missed getting an excellent rating. Otherwise, a wonderful and memorable weekend!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wintvox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All over
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2010

Everyone I encountered at the front desk was friendly and helpful. This is an older building that has been remodeled, so the room had newer furnishings and linens. Room was quiet and relaxing. Would have enjoyed a flat screen TV instead of the older CRT, but still not bad. Enjoyed the fresh baked cookies in the afternoon, and free HBO in the room.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elvisss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blainville, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

Stayed at this hotel on a roadtrip from Montreal to Florida with my wife and 3 kids. Was clean and comfortable. We had good service and no problems. Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ob1dob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2010

This is our preferred hotel in Sumter if we cannot stay on base. It is right in the middle of everything, and the rates are very reasonable (especially for military). The breakfast is great, and the staff has always been very courteous and helpful. Start here if you are looking for a place to stay in Sumter!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank satraveler0214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

Hampton's are known for their consistency. If you've stayed at one you've stayed at them all. This is why I stay there as a business traveler because I know what to expect and they always deliver. This particular Hampton met most of my expectations so I won't rehash their amenities. But I have to tell you about their deficiencies so that you can make an informed decision.
First, their wireless internet service is terrible. I drops you every 10 minutes and you have to reconnect. When you are connected, it is super slow. I gave up after an hour and started using my iphone. It was faster.
Second, breakfast in the lobby, while nothing to write home about, usually provides sustenance for the upcoming day. This particular Hampton served milk that was a bit on the lumpy side. After taking a huge swallow, I realized the milk was rotten and I heaved it all back up onto my waffle. The rest of the day my stomach was queasy. I read the date on the container and it said July 2, 2010 which was precisely that day. So my recommendation is to stay there if you don't need the internet or like milk.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RentBeachStuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sumter hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Sumter
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Sumter
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 19 in Sumter
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sumter
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 19 in Sumter
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Sumter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Sumter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Sumter

Property: Hampton Inn Sumter
Address: 1370 Broad St, Sumter, SC 29150-1984
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Sumter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Sumter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Sumter 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Sumter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Sumter Hotel Sumter
Sumter Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing