We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Kickin' Chicken

Kickin' Chicken
Ranked #102 of 267 Restaurants in Summerville
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
175 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We actually found this place by accident. We were actually doing some bank business near by, when my son saw KC and said..."hey Dad, lets try Kickin Chicken!" I was like, what?! Kickin Chicken, so we decided to give it a try.
See, we're not from this area, yet. So we weren't completely aware of all the great places to eat.
But KC had great service and great food, for a good price. And you can even earn future points and get free future meals. They'll explain....
But sure, a lot of different foods...but I got the chicken, and it was great. So sure, we'll be back.

REAL SOON!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wayne117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    24
    17
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orangeburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great wings”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We went after a movie and the wings and sweet potato fries were delish. Wings were hot and not over-sauced. The Sweet Potato Fries were waffle style and fried just right. Great SERVICE TOO!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
249 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Average food...mostly all consisting of chicken, which comes in all forms, wings, boneless wings, fillets, sandwiches, salads, etc. Reasonably priced. Restaurant is not fancy, bar scene on the other side. Good for families with small children. Chicken was tasty and not overcooked or overseasoned, but the combination of "nothing tremendously special" about the food or atmosphere gets this restaurant an "average" rating.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Orlandogal307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best place for wings”
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

My family and I have eaten here at least 8 times since we moved here 4.5 months ago. They have never disappointed us, the food is always delicious and the service is always wonderful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Renee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
366 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Camaraderie Yes ... Local Culture Yes ... Food No”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Kickin' Chicken should be an obligatory afternoon stop for any non-native passing through the area during football season. The gymnasium-size restaurant, attractively divided into three sections plus bar, is packed to capacity with sports-bonding families, couples, singles, buddies of all colors, shapes, and jersy/cap logos. Every TV set is close-captioned; cheering, clapping, whistling, and booing aren't interrupted by announcers. Dozens of flat screens are placed so that three or four different games are simultaneously visible from every seat in the house.

Then there's the food. Chicken tenders, wings, wraps, and sandwiches. Burgers. Fries.The chicken tenders are dry and the batter bland enough that sauces are needed. Ranch is okay, but Jamaican jerk has a metallic taste, more aluminum than lead.

Restaurants appeal for a variety of reasons - food, atmosphere, service, value, and (as I realized at Kickin' Chicken) camaraderie. For me food comes first.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kickin' Chicken also viewed

 
Summerville, SC
 

Been to Kickin' Chicken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing