We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price bad deal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Summerville
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Summerville
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We are checking out today after five nights. The price for a suite was very reasonable. The good ends there. Our room stank of cigarettes (it is a nonsmoking room) and every once in awhile the carpet would give off a whiff of vomit. The room itself is looking shabby. We stayed here three years ago, and everything has gone downhill since then. For a two room suite with two adults and two children, we were provided one tiny trash can. The room was serviced twice during our stay, and no one seemed to notice that the tissue box was empty or that the coffee needed to be refilled. I even managed to get a dirty look from the housekeeper for daring to wait for the elevator while she was vacuuming the area. Even though I moved out of the way three times, she still switched off the vacuum and stomped away in a huff. Housekeepers also have a habit of shoving cleaning carts into already crowded elevators, so multiple guests really get to know each other in a rather uncomfortable way.
I do not recommend staying at this hotel unless price is your one and only concern.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Summerville, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We will discuss the conditions of your room with hotel management to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inn & Suites standards. To discuss your stay further, please contact Corporate Customer Care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (529)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

457 - 463 of 529 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2014

I have been stayed at this hotel over 75 nights while on long term work assignments. The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean, and the location is really convenient. All of the staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome.

I have also stayed at most of the other hotels in the area. Trust me...this is where you want to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JLpartridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

too many issues; stayed and had to move to another hotel; smell, the food is not fresh; lots of noise. not usual for country suite I have stayed in other locations but will drive a bit not to stay here

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Summerville, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

If you would like to discuss your stay further, please contact Corporate Customer Care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Hotel room was clean and everything worked. The bed was very comfortable as was the comforter! The breakfast was actually better than I expected (I had biscuits and gravy). Also very neat to get goodie bags when you check in! So far the best place we've stayed at in Summerville.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Kirsten J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I stayed here for three nights and overall pleased with my stay. I would have to agree with one of the other reviews that cigarette smoke filters throughout the hotel. South Carolina is one of the few states that you can still get a smoking room. But the hotel staff is very friendly and accomodating. Very close close to the interstate for easy on and off.

Room Tip: If you get a room on the front side it will cut the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The staff from front desk to the housekeeping staff were very nice.

Unfortunately, that doesn't make a hotel the best place to stay. We stayed a week. Our biggest complaint is that the hallways smell like smoke. And all rooms on the 3rd floor were non-smoking, not sure if there are any smoking rooms. It filters in to the room and I HATE cigarette smoke. If you do stay here, the other thing is to be sure you get a room not facing the busy road behind the hotel. That made it hard to sleep.

Positive is that the room was extremely dark and made it easy to sleep late. Reasonably priced, comfortable.

Room Tip: Pick room on front of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cobikergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed one night on our way down to Florida. We had our pet with us and got a one bedroom suite for the night.

As others have said the décor was a little dated but we really don't care that much about that.

We felt the room had to much furniture in it and could have done with a few less pieces. It gave the room a cluttered look and felt closed in. The one bed suite is setup in shotgun style with the bedroom in the back near the window and the living area closest the door. It makes the living area seem darker. These are all small things.

John at the front desk was very helpful and friendly. There is plenty of shopping close by and and you can easily walk to a Cracker Barrel or Ruby Tuesday. We got take out from the Cracker Barrel and it was very good.

We would stay here again if in this area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv-to-travel-NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Summerville hotels
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden Summerville
Wyndham Garden Summerville
#6 of 11 in Summerville
102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Summerville
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 11 in Summerville
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Summerville
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Summerville
Comfort Suites Summerville
#7 of 11 in Summerville
103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Summerville
Hampton Inn Summerville
#2 of 11 in Summerville
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Summerville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Summerville

Address: 220 Holiday Dr, Summerville, SC 29483-7311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Summerville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Summerville
Price Range: $84 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Summerville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Summerville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inns And Suites Summerville
Country Inns & Suites Summerville Hotel Summerville
Country Inn Summerville
Summerville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing