We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely time.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Summerville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Linwood Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 6 Summerville B&B and Inns
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely time.”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed in the hay barn on the property, a guest house behind the B&B. Very rustic and comfortable with a lot of cool little touches. It was very easy to set up for the week in the house. Summerville is a great location - close to Charleston and an hour and some to Savannah. The pool and gardens were lovely. The driveway is a little tight with the three guest houses stacked together, so we would end up backing the truck in the curvy drive. There really weren't garbage cans in the house either (except in the upstairs bath), so that was a bit inconvenient. Other than that, it was a lovely place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mommyparty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    9
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed three nights at Linwood in May and this is the only place that we have ever stayed in that never provided any clean towels or serviced our room during our stay, except to empty the trash bin.

Breakfast was poor with the same fruit platter, rehashed every day, complete with mould on the raspberries. There were also cereals and bread and two muffins cut in half between four people!!

On a positive note the garden was lovely and the house was in a nice setting.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoyandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

My husband and I spent four nights in early June 2012 in the Guesthouse and had a wonderful time. The price was very reasonable and the accommodations were clean and well furnished. There are several restaurants and grocery stores nearby however the site itself is away from the town noise on a very peaceful and beautiful property.There is a well equipped kitchen and due to the proximity of grocery stores we were able to do a mix of eating out and cooking at the house to reduce the cost of meals. The property is about 25 minutes away from Charleston so we were able to head down there everyday to visit museums and attend Spoleto shows without paying the exorbitant prices to stay in Charleston. The Guest house has two bedrooms, a master and a room with 2 twin beds making it great for small families as well as couples. We would recommend Linwood and would stay there again if we found ourselves in that area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TodayIsAGift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Our family usually stays closer to the beach in Charleston SC. We found Linwood through Tripadvisor and decided to give it a try. Mostly because we wanted a house this time instead of a condo and the rates for a house on the beach was much more than we wanted to pay. This property is only 10-15 min from Charleston and access to several beaches for our family which included my wife and 2 children ages 6 and 16.
The house itself sits directly behind the main house which is the Bed and Breakfast house. There are actually 4 homes on the property in which they all are together on a corner block. They all are beautiful homes surrounded by beautiful plants, trees, flowers, and the like. The house was fully furnished and was very comfortable and cozy for our family. We went to the local supermarket and stocked the fridge with drinks, sandwich stuff, snacks, etc... Had several meals in Charleston too.
The pool on the premises is very nice and my wife and children loved it. We met Linda upon arrival as she stopped by to say hello. Thats about all of the interaction we had with her except at the pool. My wife wasn't really pleased in the fact that every time she went to the pool with the kids, the owners and their family came out there too, and she felt uncomfortable with that. She felt they were watching her and the kids for some reason. They weren't really conversing at all just kind of patrolling the pool. Dont really know what that was about.
I would highly recommend this property for people with no small children as i don't think it's what the owners really prefer. It's very quiet and location is great if you dont have to be right on the beach. Hope this helps as we are being very honest with our review. Our stay was an entire week beginning on June 5, 2012

Room Tip: This home is very quaint and decorated nicely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank wesleygolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2012

If you want to relax and just BE, this is the place. Beautiful surroundings to stroll or excercise. The views from the top is beautiful especially if you are fit enough to conquere the tower above the treetops. We loved the whole feeling about this place and the service at the hotel and its restaurant was excellent. We would love to go back

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mari H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for four nights over our anniversary and were overall very happy with our stay. Linda was very accomodating and offered to help us with planning activities in the area and recommending places to eat. She was also so kind as to get up early on our last day to make sure we had coffee to take with us on our 10 hour drive home (she even offered to have fruit set out for us).

The house is a beautiful old historic home that has lovely gardesn all throughout the property. I recommend walking back through the paths to find your own little "spot" - there is a Koi pond we enjoyed watching and there is also a couple hidden swings on the grounds that made us feel completely secluded from the rest of the property. We also greatly enjoyed sitting out by the pool in the afternoons and when the heat got to be too much, we were able to cool off in the pool. The pool is not heated, but with temps in the upper 80's to 90's the water had warmed up nicely.

The only thing we were disappointed in was the breakfast. Having stayed at many B&B's, we're used to having a hot breakfast available. The property provided different breads w/ jams (which were delicious), cereal and fruit along with coffee and tea. So it was enough to start our day, but just not what we had expected.

Overall, we areglad we chose Linwood for anniversary trip!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMeads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge ON
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2011

I had the good fortune to find Linwood and stay there with my mother, my two aunts (between 85 and 91) and a male nurse who was assiting us. The house is lovely, the grounds stunning. The hosts were gracious in offering a second wheelchair In addition to one I had brought from Canada) for getting my aunts around. We stayed for 5 nights.

However there is a very strong born again Christian atmosphere. of course this is absolutely fine since this reflects the beliefs of the owners. However I am gay, and so was the nurse who accompanined us (though not flamboyant or out in any way).. And though we are not a couple and slept in seperate beds in the same room, all five of the party travelling got the very distinct feeling that our hostess was very uncomfortable with us.

On the night of our arrival, the nurse and I decided to go out and get a couple of items we needed, after getting the three older members of the party settled. When we got back at 11:00 p.m. we found the doors locked and no obvious means of entrance available. It turned out the next day that the door simply was binding and our key would have worked if we had forced it. However we found a nearby motel so we would not disturb our obvioiusly sleeping hosts. No apology was offered the next day when our hostess found out our dilemma when we arrived in time for breakfast.

I would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone who loves gardening, and antiques. I would not recommend it if you are gay as you will make your hosts feel unhappy.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank furnacemaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Summerville hotels
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 10 in Summerville
384 reviews
2.7 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Summerville
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Summerville
Hampton Inn Summerville
#2 of 10 in Summerville
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Summerville
Wyndham Garden Summerville
#5 of 10 in Summerville
59 reviews
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Summerville
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Summerville
Comfort Suites Summerville
#6 of 10 in Summerville
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linwood Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linwood Bed & Breakfast

Property: Linwood Bed & Breakfast
Address: 200 S Palmetto St, Summerville, SC 29483-6042
Location: United States > South Carolina > Summerville
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Summerville
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linwood is a sanctuary from cares and concerns of the world. Our beautiful property offers you rest, retreat, and recreation from the hustle and bustle of your daily life. Built in 1883 by Julia Drayton Hastie, heiress to the famous Magnolia on the Ashley Plantation, our exquisite Victorian mansion stands majestically on nearly two acres of award winning, landscaped gardens in the quaint town of Summerville, SC. Heart of pine floors, high ceilings, chandeliers, Victorian bays and triple sash windows provide an elegant background for the owners' collection of fine English and American antiques and oriental rugs. Once the home of a nineteenth century plantation owner, today Linwood offers an elegant and peaceful retreat with delightful guest rooms, private baths, secluded seating areas, delicious and healthful breakfasts, English afternoon tea, a large swimming pool, wide porches, nearly two acres of stunning gardens and lots of lovely amenities. We look forward to your stay with us at Linwood ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing