We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Reservation Accuracy”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Summerville
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor Reservation Accuracy”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Booked a NON-SMOKING room and given a smoking room because all others were full. Terrible night sleep in stinky ashtray room and their fitness center is a joke. One treadmill, one bike and one elliptical. No mats, no free weights, no bench, no exercise balls, no water!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Tyler E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
April V, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
I sincerely apologize your stay was not comfortable! I looked into your reservation and your reservation was originally booked as a smoking room, I apologize if that is not what you wanted, that may have been all that we had available at the time of your booking. We absolutely never change any reservations without direct request for that reservation. I understand Shawn did everything he could to try and make the room less smokey smelly for you.
Again, I deeply am sorry you did not know you were booked into a smoking room, unfortunately with our location we still have a high demand for smoking rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    120
    53
    36
    13
See reviews for
142
107
28
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

The staff was amazing and helpful, however, the room felt old and worn. THe room was well-maintained and orderly, just not what I normally expect from Hampton Inn. The breakfast was not the best quality, althought the staff did a great job in keeping the area nice and tidy. All the staff did a great job during our stay, but overall, it seemed like an old hotel that Hamtpon purchased and did the bare minimum to meet a standard.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I love this motel! It is clean, close to restaurants and shops and the staff is very friendly and helpful. I was in Summerville for a family wedding in July. On line sources declared it number one but full. I was able to get the last room available by calling direct. Unfortunately it was a handicap room. The room was large aNd comfortably furnished. The bathroom was alsko large, but there was no counter for beauty supplies just a narrow glass shelf to the right dedicated to complimentary shampoo, etc. Surely a wheelchair would fit under a counter? The bathtub contained a screw on shelf that served as a seat. Combined with the bars, the seat's position made it impossible to arrange the shower curtain to prevent water from cascading onto the floor.
When I apologized to the maid organizing the laundry across the hall, she offered to remove the seat. This was done promptly.
The desk clerk helped me set up the wifi for my IPAD. There were cookies, lemonade and tea available for an evening snack. The breakfast was good. Another desk clerk arranged for me to have fresh seafood at a local restaurant, "Oscar's," and called ahead so I was seated immediately. Iwill definately stay at Hampton Inn, Summerville, SC again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happytripper4Now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Good place to stay outside Charleston SC at half the price of Charleston, just 20 minutes away. On our way to Hilton Head, wanted to stop by Charleston to see some friends. No need to pay $200 plus parking just to sleep a few hours. Good chain of hotels, part of Hilton Hotels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Jaime M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
256 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were on our way to Charleston,SC and decided to stay outside of town in order to get a hotel with a more affordable room rate. This hotel was located just a couple of blocks off of the Interstate and had easy access to everything we needed. There were nice restaurants nearby as well as a Wal Mart right next door. The hotel grounds were nicely kept and there was ample parking. We stay at Hamptons much of the time when we travel, because they are always the same high quality. This one was no exception! The staff was friendly and accommodating, the guest computer was easily accessible, and the breakfast was very handy before we started our day in Charleston. The distance to Charleston was only 22 miles. It's a very convenient location and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Request a 1st floor room since there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caper2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Kentucky
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

The hotel was very nice. The staff was very helpful. It is right off the highway and only 25 minutes from Charleston which we were visiting. There are several restaurants nearby and several stores in case you forgot to pack anything. Only 2 issues: there is no elevator so if you need to request a bottom floor when you make reservations. The other thing is the exercise room - it was a separate room and there was no treadmill. I did not use it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Dana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

This Hampton is a fine value. The staff is accommodating, friendly and out to please. Rooms are pleasant and clean. Breakfast selection a nice variety and pleasantly presented. Sweet tea and lemonade available in lobby was fresh brewed and delicious.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Edward N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerville
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Summerville
Wyndham Garden Summerville
#5 of 10 in Summerville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Summerville
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Summerville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Summerville
Hampton Inn Summerville
#2 of 10 in Summerville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Summerville
Comfort Suites Summerville
#6 of 10 in Summerville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Magnolia Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 1015 Jockey Ct, Summerville, SC 29483-5217 (Formerly Hampton Inn Summerville)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Summerville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Summerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 52 room hotel located just off Interstate 26 at Exit 199-A in Historic Summerville, SC. Just a few short minutes from downtown Summerville, 30 minutes from Historic Charleston, SC and just 45 minutes from the Beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Summerville Hotel Summerville
Summerville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing