We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A magical wilderness, minutes from I95” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santee National Wildlife Refuge

Santee National Wildlife Refuge
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A magical wilderness, minutes from I95”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

While traveling on I95 we stopped at Santee Wildlife Refuge to stretch our legs, and within minutes we found ourselves in a wonderful wild place. We climbed the Indian mound and hiked the two trails closest to the highway--Wrights Bluff, and Dingle Pond--both of which include beautiful cypress swamps. This took us a little longer than two hours. While hiking we saw a snake, a turtle, a large owl, great blue herons, a wood duck, mallards, geese, as well as more small birds than we could name or count. The staff at the visitor center was wonderful: friendly and helpful. Next time we're passing by we'll definitely visit again. Very highly recommended.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pondandpines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    7
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful adventure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

We hiked the 7.5 miles around the park and we were not at all disappointed. I would highly recommend being prepared for ticks. We had to scan eachother about every half hour or so as we forgot bug deterrent.

Helpful?
1 Thank trizkelerulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A must see for all ages.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

The Santee National Wildlife Refuge has something for everyone, young and old. The Refuge is divided into 4 distinct areas. There are hiking and bicycling trails as well as canoe and kayaking areas. You can fish, view the many birds, animals and reptiles who call the Refuge home or just pass through. There are hundreds of bird and waterfowl species, including eagles, osprey, herons and wood ducks. Some of the other species who call the Refuge home are deer, pigs, turkeys and the largest alligators I've ever seen. There is a nice visitors center. If you are not an outdoors person, you can drive through 2 of the units.
In addition, there is an old Indian Mound near the visitors center.
The Refuge is one of our favorite places to visit. We often take friends there. You will not be disappointed.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank lakelorain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
1,664 reviews
1,277 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 610 helpful votes
“The Indian Mound is a must see!! Great combo of nature/history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

This is a great reserve with many trails to walk. You can see gators, snakes birds and other great animals. There is a really good visitors center with friendly staff. The reason I went=the Santee Indian mound. Constructed sometime between 1200 to 1400 AD, and also serving as British Fort Watson during the Revolutionary War, it still stands and looks great. you can take steps to the top for a great view of Lake Marion. The reserve is right next to I-95. you can't see it, and it's FREE!! Go take your family for some graet nature walks, learn history and have a picnic! Enjoy, i did!!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank jlantern3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blythewood, South Carolina
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Helped with fundraising to raise awareness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

Helped raise money to up fit and improve structures to maintain wildlife, great spot for bird spotting.

Helpful?
Thank SCh2ofowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santee National Wildlife Refuge also viewed

 

Been to Santee National Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing