We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Life is short -- eat the dessert FIRST”
Review of Cafe Medley - CLOSED

Cafe Medley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Life is short -- eat the dessert FIRST”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Yep they are to DIE for!! The cheese plates come with a choice of dips ... everything is fresh and tasty ... we ate everything on the plate and enjoyed a glass of wine to wash it down. I have no doubt that you can find someting to enjoy ... try the Blondie if you are in the mood for something sweet -- YUMMMMMY!! The only complaint I have is it is a little hard to spot this place -- it is tucked on the upper level in a little strip of stores... so when the GPS says you are there -- look up! There is a parking lot across the street if you can't park on the street. We parked down the street .. but I imagine in the summer it will be tough to find a place to park nearby.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bebeblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    13
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful cafe”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stopped for a quick lunch and were delighted with this find. The menu had so many intriguing choices that I had trouble deciding but settled on the French Poodle (panini with brie, pears, and honey) which was delicious. It came with a delicious, fresh salad. The service was prompt and friendly; prices were very reasonable and the atmosphere was comfortable and relaxing.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Asummer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
203 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great little happy hour!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had a living social coupon and it was the best deal around. Quaint little cafe right in Sullivans on main strip. Great wine selection for a small shop. Ordered a few appetizers/small plates with some wine and just hung out. Service was fantastic and food was delicious.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewJerseylovedGreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
142 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great Cafe!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I have been to Cafe Medley several times over the past few months. Usually I go to enjoy a latte while I read a newspaper, book, or write in my journal. Wifi is available, too, if that's your preference. Occasionally I would order a sandwich if I arrived closer to noon. The staff makes a great lox sandwich on toasted sourdough; since I'm not excited about bagels, Savannah-barista par excellence, offered the bread when I first ordered the sandwich. There are tempting pastries also. In addition the cafe has a wide wine selection. Apparently they have wine-tasting evenings, which I have never experienced so far, but if their daytime service is any example, the wine events should be above average. Spending two winter months here in South Carolina instead of Minnesota have been a real pleasure, one reason of which is the enjoyable time I've spent at the Medley.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
298 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The best place on Sullivan's Island for coffee, tea, and a light breakfast or lunch. Excellent service and comfortable atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank merlinslap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Medley also viewed

Sullivan's Island, Coastal South Carolina
Sullivan's Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Sullivan's Island, Coastal South Carolina
Sullivan's Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing