We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a quick stop!”
Review of Southern Barbecue

Southern Barbecue
Ranked #87 of 331 Restaurants in Spartanburg
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Good for a quick stop!”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

An easy walk from the Hampton Inn. This isn't a fancy place. Just some good BBQ. Fries aren't the best. Hush puppies are great - if you like hush puppies (choose them instead of the "roll", though - just a plain old white bread roll!). Service is fast, friendly, and reasonably priced.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank PANeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    21
    5
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good barbecue at a reasonable price”
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We have gone there on several occasions and it's always been very good. Its definitely some of the best barbecue in the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank munkletoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The tastiest BBQ I've ever tasted”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Found this place on our way north thanks to Trip Advisor. Otherwise we would have missed some of the best ribs ever. Service was friendly but not over bearing. Food got to us quickly and hot. We both had the BBQ ribs plate with beans and slaw. Talk about fall off the bone but its definitely finger food as you won't get a knife. Hush puppies were crispy and basic. Just what I hoped for. If you're traveling north or south, it's worth a stop. We're sure to make sure it's our list every time. The 4 stars was because it was almost empty and the kind of chow that needs company

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelingmaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“BBQ Pit Stop”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Ordered the Sliced Brisket, Hush Puppies, Slaw, Fries
- Cheap Eats < $7.00
- Good Service
- Overall Vinegar based BBQ flavor
- Ask for Red Rib sauce for traditional BBQ flavor (dipping)
- Not spicy, very very mild

Safe Travels!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Land&Sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pigeon Forge, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Food was very good and they have the best service on I- 85. We had the chopped pork with slaw and hush puppies. The menu is classic southern with many of my favorites.

Helpful?
Thank HMH80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Barbecue also viewed

 
 

Been to Southern Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing