We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Shrimp and Grits”

Hickory Tavern Grill & Raw
Ranked #52 of 332 Restaurants in Spartanburg
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: The Hickory Tavern is the perfect place for a business lunch, after work happy hour, or to go watch any game! Bring the kids or just have a girl's night out. Whatever the occasion, the Hickory Tavern is always the perfect destination!
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Shrimp and Grits”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I think their shrimp and grits is about as good as any I've had.. I eat there once a week and the burgers, fish taco's, and salads are my favorites.. I eat on Thursdays and enjoy the .69 cent oysters.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rcarruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    20
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

This is the best hamburger in SC! Friendly service and a casual atmosphere. I heard that they are known for their shrimp dish and look forward to trying that the next time I visit. The bar seating looks inviting and TV's are abundant for following sports.

Helpful?
Thank Gracie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Many visits, Many pluses!”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Hickory Tavern has a great atmosphere and excellent food. I particularly like the steak sandwich. My husband likes their seafood. I always order the tavern's house chardonnay. It's very good.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Where2NextGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Relaxed, great variety”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Was here many years ago and liked it, but could not stand the cigarette smoke. Now that it is no longer an issue will look forward to the shrimp and grits and great service on a more regular basis.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place, good atmosphere”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Love going to Hickory Tavern on Thursday nights for their raw oysters. House salad is excellent. They have a nice deck out back if you want to eat outside complete with TV's for sports viewing. Inside is comfortable and just rowdy enough where you can laugh and have a good time without disturbing others. Theirs shrimp and grits are good too!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZenobiaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hickory Tavern Grill & Raw also viewed

 

Been to Hickory Tavern Grill & Raw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing