We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great tour - very interesting!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BMW Zentrum

BMW Zentrum
Ranked #3 of 34 things to do in Spartanburg
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great tour - very interesting!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Seeing the entire BMW manufacturing process from start to finish was really interesting. My husband and teenage son just loved the tour and the museum! It's a perfect family outing.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CLA4024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    46
    13
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic technology but tour lacked context and warmth”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

The tour of the BMW car factory showcases their amazing technology. The tour is impressive and certainly worth a visit but I thought it could be improved. The tour guide, despite the "southern hospitality" location, was a bit brusque and bossy. Also, I thought they didn't do a good job of establishing the context of the factory. I was never quite sure where we were in the sprawling factory, nor did I get a good sense of what was done in the other parts of the factory. A short intro video or a few posters with diagrams and photos would have helped a lot. I also thought it was dumb that they don't allow photographs. Do they think they are protecting their trade secrets and processes? Get serious - anyone in the car business would figure it out right away, with a camera or without. Let the visitors take pictures, I say.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jock W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
363 reviews
169 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“If you are in to cars...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

My husband loved this place that shows a car being built until it actually does drive off the ramp. A huge, sprawling complex with displays of old cars, motorcycles, lots of pictures. They do an amazing job leading guests from one site to another in an actual car factory!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CherylandBrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I want a BMW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

If you were ever interested in seeing how luxury cars are produced, this is the place for you. The BMW tour will really open your eyes. This clean, quiet, and technically advanced plant makes 1,300 cars per day and then shipped to customers in over 130 countries around the world. The idea of trying to organize all of this sophistification is truly amazing.

Our guide, Dagmar, was very information, funny and professional.

The museum, is somewhat small, but nonetheless interesting. The snack bar is nice with reasonably priced foods (I had a german beer and pretzel for $5.00).

There are too many highlights to mention, but for $7.00 entry fee, it was well worth it!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Seedboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“worth a visit indeed!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

If you are lucky enough u might get a chance to see a concept car!
Nice guided tour -Superb Museum - Its an AWESOME experience!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dekhanerasika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BMW Zentrum also viewed

 

Been to BMW Zentrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing