We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as impressed as other reviewers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Spartanburg-I-26-Westgate Mall
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Spartanburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lacey, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Not as impressed as other reviewers”
Reviewed February 12, 2011

I recently stayed in this hotel for a business meeting and based on the reviews on TA, thought that this would be a clean, comfortable stay. I didn't have the same awesome experience that other reviewers did, but it was tolerable.

Location
This hotel is in a great location behind a mall off 1-26. There are a ton of restaurants nearby (two that you can walk to, or always go over to the mall). It was a bit back off the road so there was not a lot of road noise.

Check In/Lobby/Amenities
Room requirements were met, check-in was fine. The lobby had nice sitting areas for breakfast or if you needed to bring clients over. They did have a small snack shop in case you were hungry or forgot anything on your trip. I do recall seeing a pool and business center, but I can't comment on those. They did have a free breakfast in the AM, and I saw the waffle machines, that I know a lot of people enjoy. I'm a fan of the "breakfast bag" which provides the traveler on the go with a piece of fruit, cereal bar and water. They also have an evening manager's reception and cookies in the lobby in the evening. All nice touches. Free Internet worked well during my stay.

Room
Where my disappointment came was in my room. I was counting on this being incredibly clean and not having to worry about it being dirty, hairs, etc. based on the other reviews. Unfortunately I didn't find that to be the case. They were hairs on the bathroom floor, on the business chair and I didn't find the linens to be very clean and had to get new ones. I am a VERY picky traveler, so you might not care about these things, but I do. I don't want to know there were people in the room before me, and when I see evidence of it, makes me highly uncomfortable.

The room was a decent size, not huge, but not postage stamp small. It had a micro-fridge, which was convenient. TV was old school CRT style, which I think is an area that all hotels need to upgrade on, but it did have closed caption. It had a desk for working with a chair and another sitting chair. The bed was a little soft, but decent. The linens had some stains on them. I also did not like the fitted sheet, it kept pulling up and I don't think anyone wants to sleep on the actual mattress.

Missing from the room was a luggage rack. In the days of bed bugs, I like having one of these so I can elevate my luggage off the floor. I found the room had kind of a musty smell to it. Once I was in the room, it was tolerable, but when first entering the room it was noticeable.

The bathroom was so-so clean. The toilet seat did not look like it had been cleaned (or enough), there were some hairs on the floor. And watch your elbows, the rods in the shower may get you. I did like that they provide you all types of shampoo, conditioner, lotion and mouthwash, that is rare these days.

Overall
I was just a little disappointed based on the other reviews. I would stay here again, but I would not tolerate the musty room smell or hairs again and would just ask to be moved. I was tired and didn't want to deal with it that night.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedHeadGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    142
    62
    19
    17
See reviews for
189
101
21
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2010

I stayed here as a recomendation from my company, the staff was very friendly, I had 2 restaurants to walk to or the mall, it was great, They offered a managers reception with snacks from one of the restaurants very tasty and the staff was friendly and cheerful. After 3 nights there I didn't want to go home there bed was far more comfortable. This location was great for anyone with business in the upstate, very convient to 26, and 85

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Our vehicle was broken into & several thousand dollars worth of computer equipment was stolen. According to police, we are not the first to be victims of crime at this hotel. Our truck was locked and parked in the front of the hotel. Everything of value was NOT in plain sight. The hotel staff was not helpful or sympathetic.

Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank NCTraveler72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwetherford, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Spartanburg-I-26-Westgate Mall, responded to this review, October 14, 2010
I am so sorry to hear about your vehicle being broken into and items taken during your stay. The Spartanburg County Sherriff's Department has advised hotels, shopping malls and entertainment venues to alert their guests to remove GPS systems, personal electronics and valuables from their vehicles as there has been a problem with thieves targeting these types of locations since the first of the year. It is our procedure to alert our guests of this recommendation during check-in and if there should be a problem to assist our guests with completion of a hotel incident report and contact the police department. I do apologize that you didn't receive this type of assistance from our team members. I hope that you will give our hotel another chance the next time you are in Spartanburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2010

I really enjoyed this hotel! I just stayed for 4 nights last week. The lobby was very nice, bright and clean. My room was comfortable and I just LOVE that comforter! Bathroom looked new and was clean. Towels were fresh and soft. Seemed like a lot of television selections and the reception was perfect. Free internet that was user friendly I figured out how to log on in a about a minute. The location had a lot of choices to eat from fast food to dining. Sits across the street from a Steak House that made the "air" smell so good when I returned to the hotel at night. Lighting in the parking lot was good. The Mall is in walking distance. Many, many places to shop surrounding the whole area. Easy location from the Spartanburg Airport. Breakfast was nice. Coffee 24/7. Didn't use the indoor pool but it I did go look at it. The area is big and the pool looked great but I was just too tired to enjoy it. Small fitness room seemed to always have a couple people in it. The Staff appeared to be happy. Maybe it was just the Southern Hospitality but either way, I enjoyed everyone I talked to. I really liked their market. Had a good selection of snacks and things and some area novelties. It was a battle each night for me not to run down to the lobby and buy some yummy ice cream. The whole experience was "simply sweet"! Thank you Hampton Inn & Suites!!! Good job!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorryFreePhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

We visit Spartanburg regularly and this was our first time staying at this hotel. The location is perfect for us. Check in was quick and front desk staff was very friendly. Room was furnished with large desk, dresser and unit with microwave and mini-fridge. Size was just right for 2, as was the bathroom. The room was clean and smelled fresh. We only stayed one evening, but slept well. We did not take breakfast since we were visiting family. But, did grab a cup of coffee. This hotel will be our first choice when visiting in the future.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSTn29306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, MO
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

This is was a good stay for a one night stopover. We were on our way to Myrtle beach and this put us about 4.5 - 5 hours from the beach. The rooms were clean, smelled fine, and nicely decorated. The only negative about this hotel was the breakfast area was not staffed adequately. There were long lines to get things because there was only 1 person refilling / and bring out new items. Besides the breakfast, the overall stay was very good.

This was also a good location as there were many restuarants around for dinner and we were less that 1 mile from the interstate - but we never heard the interstate.

I saw some reviews that the internet speed was slow - but this was not the case for us - it was great!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2Explr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2010

The hotel is just a little above average! There is a lot of stores around it and there is a good restaurant right next door. I had to unplug the fridge and turn of the air-condition to be able to sleep, they were both very loud!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mostad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spartanburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites At WestGate Mall
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
3.8 mi away
Spartanburg Marriott
Spartanburg Marriott
#2 of 29 in Spartanburg
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Courtyard Spartanburg
Courtyard Spartanburg
#7 of 29 in Spartanburg
160 reviews
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Spartanburg North
5.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#10 of 29 in Spartanburg
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Spartanburg-I-26-Westgate Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Spartanburg-I-26-Westgate Mall

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Spartanburg-I-26-Westgate Mall
Address: 801 Spartan Blvd, Spartanburg, SC 29301-1372
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Spartanburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Spartanburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Spartanburg
#2 Best Value Hotel in Spartanburg
#3 Family Hotel in Spartanburg
#3 Business Hotel in Spartanburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Spartanburg-I-26-Westgate Mall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hampton Inn & Suites Spartanburg I-26 Westgate Mall hotel is located just off I-26 in Spartanburg, SC next to the Summit Pointe Conference & Events Center. Guests enjoy our free amenities from free wi-fi, hot breakfast, to our airport shuttle. Enjoy Tyger River Park offering 12 tournament baseball and softball fields. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Spartanburg-I-26-Westgate Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Spartanburg-i-26-Westgate Mall Hotel Spartanburg
Hampton Inn And Suites Spartanburg-i-26-Westgate Mall
Hampton Inn Spartanburg
Spartanburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing