We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner at the Peddler”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Peddler Steak House
Ranked #104 of 391 Restaurants in Spartanburg
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: he Peddler is one of Spartanburg's finest restaurants and one of it's few true steakhouses. It is a unique and inviting atmosphere featuring antiques and artifacts from yesterday and today. Fresh steaks are cut to specification at your table and cooked on a charcoal grill. A cozy full service bar is available for pre and post dining enjoyment.
Reviewed November 8, 2018

Their food is very good, a meat cutter comes to your table, and you make your selection. We both had New York strip, and it was cooked to perfection They have a full bar ajacent to the restaurant. They have some good wines, and a wonderful salad bar with cheeses, smoked oysters, with a great variety of home made salad dressings. I must say it is not handicap accessible, and you have to climb a full flight of stairs to get inside.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Martha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 58 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2018

We love this restaurant! We have been coming here for many years. We enjoy the tasty food and the friendly servers. The servers make you feel welcome and comfortable. If you like steak, chicken, and fish cooked on the grill, you won't be disappointed. The steaks are cut to the size you want. The salad bar is awesome. So many items to choose from and very fresh. Other sides are available, too, like sweet potato casserole and mushrooms. You will not leave hungry as the portions definitely generous. The service is done at a steady pace, and you aren't rushed. The prices are reasonable. The decor has a genuine historic feel, like what other restaurants struggle to do. There is also a rustic bar downstairs if you just feel like having an adult beverage and listening to live entertainment. Make sure you come to the Peddler Christmas to see the great job Heather does with the decorations. The restaurant is a little hard to find, but it is worth the search.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tally631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed visiting an old fave in a new town. Peddler has had several locations in the Raleigh/Durham area and all were very good. We had the 12 oz ribeye which was cooked as ordered. The "Peddler" was friendly and knowledgeable. The cut was generous. We have always considered the salad bar to be top notch. The Spartanburg location did not disappoint. Another highlight was the bar area which had a terrific band! Drinks were a good pour and all the staff were friendly. All in all, a great experience with an old friend!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank shagman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2018 via mobile

Our favorite restaurant for our date nights. The steaks are unmatched!!! The owner is the sweetest most sincere we know!! You can not replicate the salad bar. Service is the best!!!

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank daahern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017 via mobile

The Peddler Steakhouse is a landmark in Spartanburg. Great ambience and decor. The bar is cozy and surprisingly suited to hear some of the local musicians. They have a wonderful salad bar (my wife would the best part of going), but the steaks are the highlight. Filet, strip, sirloin are all fantastic. They also serve chicken, pork and seafood. You can't go wrong.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Deasler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peddler Steak House also viewed

 
Spartanburg, SC
 

Been to Peddler Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing