We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (501)
Filter reviews
501 results
Traveler rating
280
137
48
23
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
280
137
48
23
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe concierge loungeunderground parkingfront deskbeautiful hotelkrispy kremelarge hotelwofford collegepatio areaconference centerbreakfast buffetvisiting spartanburgno hot waterspartanburg areabusiness tripthe room was nicecomfy bednice stay
Filter
Updating list...
378 - 383 of 501 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed with a convention group of over 400 club members for several nights. Very nice facility and appeared new or upgraded from every angle. Room was large with very comfortable beds, pillows, and linens. Lots of plush towels and better toilettries; fridge, hairdryer, flat tv. Nice view of grounds from the 7th floor. Understaffed and busy in the restaurant and bar areas at times but that staff was attentive and trying hard. Housekeeping was exceptionally nice. Lots of underground parking. Only real glitch was a startling & repetitive electronic fire alarm warning at 3 a.m. 'Wait (in the room) for further instructions.' We did not wait and walked the 7 flights down and outside. All cleared after a quick response from the fire dept. Was told later that there is NO p.a. system to the rooms, so how would 'further instructions' come to us? This should be improved/changed. Outside restaurants a walking block or two away.

Room Tip: Suggest staying on the ends of the halls, nearer to the stairs/fire exits.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rdqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

As a frequent guest at the Spartanburg Marriott, I believe the key to the over-the-top guest experience they offer is the staff. From check-in, to the bar and restaurant, to maintenance, it is obvious that the Marriott team is focused on the guest experience.

On top of the great guest service, the facilities are top notch. The recent re-design and re-build of the lounge and restaurant is amazing. The designers created a space that is open, warm, inviting; yet, intimate all at the same time.

No hotel is perfect; especially one as busy as the Spartanburg Marriott. When there are mistakes or slip-ups, the issue is quickly addressed in a professional manner with guest satisfaction at the center of any action taken by the staff.

This review probably sounds like I work for the hotel. Trust me, I don’t! I am just a very happy frequent guest.

If you are headed to Spartanburg, you should seriously consider staying at the Marriott in the downtown area. Great restaurants and entertainment are within walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BullCityTraveler57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I doubt that I could have had a better experience at this hotel. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the rooms were incredibly clean and the beds were absolutely perfect. I haven't slept so soundly on the road! If my work ever takes me back to Spartanburg, I will definitely be staying in this Marriott again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Very nice, well-appointed, spacious room. Big TV in the room with High Definition. Easy online reservation, easy check-in with an unprompted overview of the facility by the receptionist. Good location and hot Krispy Kreme donuts across the street! We had a very nice dinner in the terrific lounge area near the lobby with Olympic competition playing on the numerous TV's throughout the bar area. Overall, a very nice hotel with lots to offer.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed here in advance of the 'Assault on Mt Mitchell' cycling event. This came right after graduation at a local college. Despite the fact that these events were planned months in advance, the hotel was unprepared for the large checkout and checkin crowds, and rooms weren't ready until very late. This logistics problem was avoidable, and was a surprise to see at a Marriott.

The hotel is very clean and amenities were as expected.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moabhikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

First and foremost thank you for your feedback, we take these surveys very seriously and use any feedback to assist us in ensuring the satisfaction of every guest that walks through the door. We are sorry for the delay you experienced. We are working closley with all departments to ensure a smooth process for future large events. We thank you again for your feedback and please notify the hotel directly if you are ever in the Spartanburg area.
At Your Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews