We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you love nature...”

Hatcher Garden & Woodland Preserve
Ranked #2 of 33 things to do in Spartanburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
366 reviews
169 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“If you love nature...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

This gem is tucked near downtown Spartanburg but when you walk through the gardens the only sound you'll hear is the songs of the birds. The ambling walks, little streams, wooden bridges with plenty of benches put thoughts of a busy day out of my head. We took my 86 y/o Mum here and stayed about two hours, there were so many little plants and flowers showing happy faces. All different kinds of birds, little squirrels, little fish in the streams.
It was the generosity of a nature lover to turn what was once a garbage filled ravine into an exquisite park over more than 30 years of labor by he and his wife. Then they GAVE the park to the city of Spartanburg. We can hardly wait another few months to see what else has popped up in the beautiful gardens. FREE but donations are appreciated.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank CherylandBrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    37
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best entertainment for the price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We were there in January so it was not nearly as nice as it would be in Spring, Summer or Fall but the price is right. There is no charge to walk through this beautiful donated garden.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is a beautiful gem on Spartanburg's Westside. Having a personalized brick made is a great way to honor loved ones. Robin and her staff do an excellent job with this place.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lacyjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lapeer, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Even in the midst of winter this place is a must see. We walked here on Sunday after a delicious meal at the Farmer's Table. We enjoyed the paths and imagined how beautiful it must be in the summer. We will be back!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank stlydr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“so pretty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Such a beautiful place. Wish the water ran in seasons other than the summer. My favorite part is the creek/waterfall and it only runs in the summer, probably for budget reasons :(

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank bethanyphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hatcher Garden & Woodland Preserve also viewed

 

Been to Hatcher Garden & Woodland Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing