We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Place”

Hatcher Garden & Woodland Preserve
Ranked #2 of 33 things to do in Spartanburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lapeer, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Place”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Even in the midst of winter this place is a must see. We walked here on Sunday after a delicious meal at the Farmer's Table. We enjoyed the paths and imagined how beautiful it must be in the summer. We will be back!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank stlydr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    38
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
south carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“so pretty”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Such a beautiful place. Wish the water ran in seasons other than the summer. My favorite part is the creek/waterfall and it only runs in the summer, probably for budget reasons :(

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank bethanyphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline, SC
Level Contributor
142 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A wonderful nature retreat!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

a beautiful little nature preserve in the midst of the city. Large enough to feel like you are really away from it all, yet small enough for a quick outing. So nice to have this gem in our town!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Glennacres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurens, South Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nature's respite so close to town!”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

A walk or a longer visit so close to the busy city is a refreshing break. It's a great place to visit. Catch their plant sales if you can. You can get some native plants as well as wonderful varieties of traditional and new plants. There's even a Men's Garden Club that participates in plant sales!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
285 reviews
143 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Well-hidden Gem”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I grew up in Spartanburg, but moved away over 30 years ago. Somewhere in between, this once-private lawn blossomed into a volunteer-maintained public park. It is filled with exotic (and common) plants, ponds, and paths. And it's right there on a busy, commercial road. I've driven by it numerous times without even noticing, but we were looking for a place to let the kids stretch their legs and my mother had mentioned this place before (though she had never visited it either). We spent an hour there and it was well worth the stop. We will be visiting again.

Note, there is no fee, but there is a donation box and I suggest dropping some bills into it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank SCDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hatcher Garden & Woodland Preserve also viewed

 

Been to Hatcher Garden & Woodland Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing