We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff was great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Spartanburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The location was convenient, the room was clean, breakfast was plentiful and tasty, but the highlight was the staff. They were friendly, attentive, funny, and personable. They actually listened and when I mentioned the funeral we were going to, they applied a bereavement rate to help us out.

Room Tip: Make sure to note refund policies if booking by mobile, they're not very clearly stated. Also t...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 132 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

We were traveling from New Orleans back to Virginia. We had been on the road quite some time and needed a stopping point. We read previous reviews for this and everyone said it was quiet. We were so tired and wanted something reliable and something with a breakfast. It was a nice hotel, seemed fairly new. Clean with a fitness area and pool (didn't have time to use) The front desk staff were very nice at check-in and check-out. Breakfast was typical, pancake maker (didn't try), hard biscuits with sausage gravy, eggs, sausage patties and juices.
All around nice hotel, but I don't think I would choose it again. The road noise was loud enough, but the heater was even louder. And I don't know what everyone was talking about with the cookies, we weren't offered any.

Room Tip: Ask for one farthest from the road.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristinaM41_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear ChristinaM41_12,

Thank you for the candid feedback. It is lovely to hear you found our hotel clean and liked our front desk staff. However, we regret your stay was negatively impacted by the noise challenges you experienced. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Chose this hotel as we traveled with our dog and not all hotels take large dogs or pets at all. We did have to pay a non-refundable fee of $50.00.
Our room was on the ground floor near a side exit door. Perfect! Could not believe how quiet our room was. Our room was very clean and pleasant. Nothing appeared worn or tired looking. Parking was next to the entry/exit door near our room. Breakfast was good. Most everything you could want on a small breakfast buffet. I don't remember seeing any fresh fruit but there was plenty of juice. Coffee was surprisingly good. Definitely would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pborl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
don_mcinerney, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thanks so much for the kind words. We know its tough to travel with our furry friends and we are proud to provide a home for them as well while you travel.

We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Just a stop over here but we where very impressed with the room and service at this hotel. Rooms were clean and spacious, service was slow to start with but very friendly. Breakfast was good. Wi fi
worked fine. Guest laundry was clean and machines worked well. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zenshideaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights business. Chose because it had a swimming pool. I like to swim lengths- it was just long enough. The staff were very helpful and saved me a fortune in taxi fares by arranging the hotel courtesy bus to ferry me to appointments and also to local shops. Breakfast is basic sausage bacon egg and muffins with doughnuts etc. All self service but with good selection of coffee. Rooms basic but everything clean and worked. Located on edge of Westgate shopping Mall. As a Brit I walked - nobody walks in US. Everyone told me Greenville was nicer - but couldn't find a pool. Would recommend, if only to save on taxi fares.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

No welcome rewards token gift, front desk folks okay, but not particularly friendly or helpful. Room was okay except: no clock/clock radio, phone beside bed didn't work, phone cord and electrical cord ran from bedside table BETWEEN the mattress and box spring, to wall. Gross stain on side of box spring easily visible. Signs of wear/age in bathroom. Breakfast was okay, some things empty although it was only 9:00; person restocking wasn't friendly and certainly didn't get out of the way when I tried to get a yogurt out of the fridge - just stood there stocking it with milk. Price seemed a bit high. When we told front desk person about the phone, clock, he just sort of looked at us like we were crazy. I suggested he might want to tell someone...and he finally mumbled something.
Not a bad stay, just not a good stay. Will consider other HIEs in the area next time.

Room Tip: Try a different HIE I the Spartanburg area - I think there are 5.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessie'smom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear jessie'smom,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Please accept our apologies for the condition in which you found your room. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We will be addressing the matters with the respective departments in order to avoid these unnecessary issues in the future.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Holiday Inn Express on Spartan Blvd. came to my rescue during a very stressful time last week. My mother had passed away and planning for incoming family and the multitude of decisions left me feeling overwhelmed. From the moment I came in, met Brandy and saw the yummy chocolate chip cookies, to the last friendly goodbyes, I felt so "at home." The rooms have recently been updated and are plush, comfortable. The rooms and halls were quiet though they were sold out almost every night. WI-fi was no problem. Breakfast was wonderful and the hostess, Pam, was so accommodating. The rooms were perfectly cleaned. The hotel allowed the family to gather in the comfortable breakfast area the night before the funeral at no additional costs. Don, the manager, even invited the family to take part in his regular Wednesday night guest/restaurant fare. My hat is off to Don! He has managed to unite a wonderful staff and create a great environment I would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms facing toward the mall would be farther away from the railroad tracks, which were not loud, bu...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandlappergirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spartanburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Spartanburg-I-26-Westgate Mall
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites At WestGate Mall
7.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Spartanburg North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Spartanburg Marriott
Spartanburg Marriott
#2 of 29 in Spartanburg
447 reviews
3.1 mi away
Courtyard Spartanburg
Courtyard Spartanburg
#7 of 29 in Spartanburg
164 reviews
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 29 in Spartanburg
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Address: 895 Spartan Blvd, Spartanburg, SC 29301-1372
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Spartanburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Spartanburg
#6 Family Hotel in Spartanburg
Price Range: $119 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & SuitesWelcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, Spartanburg, South Carolina, where Southern hospitality and old fashioned charm comes to life.Specifically designed for the business and leisure traveler alike, we are at the heart of everything the heart desires from shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. We offer complimentary Airport Shuttle services for the business traveler and for the pet lovers we are a pet-friendly hotel that accepts your adorable pets for a nominal cleaning fee. Whether you re coming to Spartanburg for business or just for fun at the Holiday Inn Express, you ll have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as high-speed internet, work center, plush towels and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right.You can take a dip in our indoor heated pool or catch a quick work out in our in-house gym, and when it s time to dine you can enjoy a dining adventure at one of the many restaurants located within a mile radius of the hotel. We ll start your day off right with our complimentary Express Start Breakfast featuring our delicious signature Cinnamon Rolls.The best of Southern Hospitality and Spartanburg is waiting for you at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Spartanburg
Holiday Inn Spartanburg
Holiday Inn Express Spartanburg
Spartanburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing