We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Taverna

La Taverna
Ranked #28 of 324 Restaurants in Spartanburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Spartanburg
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Italian cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have been a frequent diner at La Taverna. Although, with any new restaurant there are challenges to overcome, I believe that after almost 5 years in Spartanburg this restaurant gets it right. First of all the food is absolutely delicious and always fresh. The salad dressing is out of this world and can be used on almost any dish. It is so good we use it as dipping sauce for our bread and our Calamari. The owner is very passionate about his cooking and prides himself on cooking fresh food at a reasonable price. Going to La Taverna is like a mini trip to Italy. The Chef/Owner is Italian, he has an endearing Italian accent, and the decor is also in line with Italy. I did have a situation where an item was missing from my order, but it was handled promptly, politely and apologetic by the owner himself. I continue to recommend this restaurant over any other for Italian food. Buon appetito!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    27
    6
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Little Italy of the South”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Everything about this restaurant, its' food, presentation, and the atmosphere reminds me of New York City. It is very exacting about how everything is done.
It is a wonderful experience either for people who have never been to an area with true Italian food and for those who have lived in an area will native Italian cooking; either way it is wonderful.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank powderpf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“My Favorite Italian Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

The food here is so fresh and flavorful. The chef and owner here is quite a character and some people may not appreciate his passionate nature. One thing that is certain is that he is passionate about the quality of his authentic Italian cuisine. The creamy tomato basil house dressing is something else. When I finish my salad I use it on my bread because I can't get enough. I have never had a bad meal in this establishment. Last trip I had Gnocchi Parmesan and it was succulent. The love in every dish is in the sauce. Just pick one. They are all great. And they have the best cannolli I have ever had.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, SC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Today I was told I have an attitude problem and called trash <by the OWNER of La Taverna Italian Cuisine> because I was trying to pay my bill and that of a friend celebrating a birthday. The food was delicious, however after being on the receiving end of unacceptable service and a harsh tounge calling me trash for trying to pay my bill in a timely manner during my lunch hour, I will NEVER return. I request that all who value quality service to AVOID THIS ESTABLISHMENT at all costs..

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Meredith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Favorite Local Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Authentic Italian dishes are prepared and overseen by the owner who is an Italian chef himself. He is particular about quality. He wants his guests to enjoy and be happy and keep coming back, and we do. Pizzas are very good. Diverse Italian menu. You cannot go wrong here - - it is getting popular so sometimes reservations are recommended!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Montagneny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taverna also viewed

 

Been to La Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing