We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite Italian Place”
Review of La Taverna

La Taverna
Ranked #37 of 331 Restaurants in Spartanburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Spartanburg, South Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“My Favorite Italian Place”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The food here is so fresh and flavorful. The chef and owner here is quite a character and some people may not appreciate his passionate nature. One thing that is certain is that he is passionate about the quality of his authentic Italian cuisine. The creamy tomato basil house dressing is something else. When I finish my salad I use it on my bread because I can't get enough. I have never had a bad meal in this establishment. Last trip I had Gnocchi Parmesan and it was succulent. The love in every dish is in the sauce. Just pick one. They are all great. And they have the best cannolli I have ever had.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    28
    7
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Simpsonville, SC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Today I was told I have an attitude problem and called trash <by the OWNER of La Taverna Italian Cuisine> because I was trying to pay my bill and that of a friend celebrating a birthday. The food was delicious, however after being on the receiving end of unacceptable service and a harsh tounge calling me trash for trying to pay my bill in a timely manner during my lunch hour, I will NEVER return. I request that all who value quality service to AVOID THIS ESTABLISHMENT at all costs..

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Meredith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Favorite Local Italian”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Authentic Italian dishes are prepared and overseen by the owner who is an Italian chef himself. He is particular about quality. He wants his guests to enjoy and be happy and keep coming back, and we do. Pizzas are very good. Diverse Italian menu. You cannot go wrong here - - it is getting popular so sometimes reservations are recommended!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Montagneny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is a little gem in a strip mall. The food is really fresh, the bread is fresh baked (and worth the price of admission on its own). They have all the classics--lasagna, spaghetti, etc.--and the pizza is great, but be sure to check out the specials. Lunch specials are good, dinner specials are better. Shrimp Fra Diavolo was one of the best things I've ever eaten, and one time I lucked into osso bucco.

Service is good, and prices aren't bad, especially for lunch.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sclawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Always super!”
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We have been coming here for years. Rossaro is always at the front to greet us.
The food is awesome and large portions, enough to take home for lunch. There bread and house salad dressing are, Molto buona. We have had the last 4 Christmas party's catered from here. Don't miss this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clscorz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taverna also viewed

 
 

Been to La Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing