We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Burger and A beer - can't be beat”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Nu Way

Nu Way
Ranked #32 of 324 Restaurants in Spartanburg
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: A dive with the best "Redneck cheeseburger" in town and a surprising number of good beers on tap. people have used Tripadvisor as a way to say the Chick Fil A is one of the best restaurants in town while the Nu Way isn't even on the list. It's awful!
Level Contributor
279 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Burger and A beer - can't be beat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Not you most fancy place, but was going here way back in the early days when i lived in Spartanburg. The burgers are hot and juicy and made the way you want them. nothing fancy, just good plain ole good food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenmnc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    15
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lyman, South Carolina
Level Contributor
85 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“It is what it is...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Okay, so the Nu-Way Lounge is not a 5-star, glitzy, cloth-napkin restaurant. It's seedy. It's dark. It's a locals' bar, for heaven's sake! It has great food, and Becky serves everything up with a big smile. If you want a fresh hamburger and tasty fries, you won't find any better than here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kesig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nostalgia is not worth it”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

The Nu Way may be Spartanburg's oldest bar, but it's also the worst. The current owner appears to take no pride in the facility and certainly doesn't put any money back into the business.
I had last visited the bar/restaurant before the city passed an indoor smoking ordinance. Smoke apparently hid a lot of evils for this place. Now upon entering, one can actually see the old dirty carpets and smell the unusual aromas of dirt and grime that appear to seep in from everywhere. The bar is dirty, the bathrooms are disgusting, and there is even a mysterious closed off restroom that's "no longer in use."
The service was horrible in addition to the fact that the bartenders and waitresses appeared unclean and unkempt. After difficulty getting service for several hours, the bartender then attempted to be running some sort of scam by adding additional items to our bill that weren't ordered. Make sure you get an itemized listing.
I can't speak for the food. Anyone eating at the NuWay in its current state is taking a risk.
It's a real shame, but nostalgia only goes so far. There are better bars with far better service, prices, and food now. Unless the place gets a new owner or cleans up its act, I will never go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sptbg73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EASTCOAST
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bring your allergy medicine”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

This historic restaurant and lounge is the meeting place for a group I've been involved with for many years now. Drinking Liberally - Spartanburg chapter - has been meeting here every Tuesday night for the last few years.

I love the friends I've met in the group, although I have no political label. I was not pleased with the choice of venue since this bar is so filthy. The locals look the other way, because the Nu Way is cheap and historic. But frankly, I don't come out as often, because I am afraid to touch stuff. I do order food when I visit, but it's like playing Russian roulette. I have gotten sick after visiting.

For a while after another local bar burned, there was some really great music Tuesday night, since some bands had been temporarily displaced. Their only compensation was enjoying the audience and a tip jar. I don't think they made very much. This is a blue collar bar, and people are very frugal these days.

I actually contacted "Bar Rescue" because I love the group, and they refuse to change their venue. But I always have to psych myself out ahead of time before I visit, and put myself on "survivor" mode, to bear with the stench, the dirty dishes, and hair in my food. Bring your own plate, coffee, and watch your step if you visit. If you want to smoke, you can go outside and hang out on some rickety benches. It was better when smoking inside restaurants was allowed, since it masked the odor of the building.

But if you are brave and don't have a lot of money, bring your inhaler and your hand sanitizer and enjoy the Nu Way. Good times!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BYOKetchup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Hole in the wall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

I think this is what they call a hole in the wall. The ceiling tiles are yellowed, the tvs are old tube style tvs, the restrooms don't seem that clean (particularly the doors) but the burgers are great and the beer is reasonable. Would I go back? Likely - if they've cleaned the restrooms.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pundit705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nu Way also viewed

 

Been to Nu Way? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing