We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as before” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Spartanburg North

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Spartanburg North
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Spartanburg
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not as good as before”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

It's been 2 years since my last stay here. The gym is the same, still no free weights or even a mat, just a couple of treadmills and an elliptical. The breakfast was okay--the cinnamon rolls had been sitting out for awhile. I didn't see any cookies. I called housekeeping right after checking in because there were more than a couple hairs left behind on the bathroom floor. They immediately fixed the problem and blamed new staff for missing that.
The bed and shower were fine, so all in all if you have to stay somewhere in Spartanburg it will do.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank porkchop1496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheresaM880, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Spartanburg North, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank You for staying with us and letting us know how we are doing. Even though we do have new staff members there is no excuse for the hairs in your bathroom. I apologize for not having cookies out when you stayed. Due to Brand Standards for Hoilday Inn Expresses we are not allowed to have weights. Again Thank you for staying with us. Hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    37
    17
    7
    7
See reviews for
47
35
15
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Very nice, not far from downtown Spartanburg, and always excellent service. This is our 5th or so time here. They even have cookies in the evenings sometimes, complimentary breakfast, big swimming pool, and workout room. They even have a fridge, microwave, and coffee maker in the rooms. Best hotel in the Spartanburg area by far!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holmesth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheresaM880, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Spartanburg North, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank You so much for staying with us and letting us know what a great job are staff is doing. I'm also happy to see that you make this your place to stop when you come through. We strive on making all of our guest feel like there at home.

Again Thank you for staying with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed at this hotel because the one in Duncan was awful. This was a much nicer hotel. The room itself was newer, however the little nugget left in the toilet from the previous occupant was somehow missed.

In need of a wakeup call around 7:30-8:30? Don't worry housekeeping will knock on your door and wake you up. If you don't answer because your sleeping, don't worry they'll be back in 15 mins! If that still doesn't get you up, they'll come back in 15 mins and MAKE ENTRY INTO THE ROOM EVEN WHEN LOCKED. If the bar on the door didn't stop them, give them about about 15 more minutes when they DO IT ALL OVER AGAIN. Keep in mind CHECKOUT IS AT 11. You also won't get back to sleep because the shouting between housekeepers down the hall around 9 will for sure keep you restless. That and the vacuum in the hallways is a nice white noise.

I stay in hotels weekly, and am Platinum with ICH. I'VE NEVER HAD SUCH ISSUE WITH A HOTEL. I was so annoyed I just left. I get they have to clean rooms. That's why you have a 3:00 check in. Just complete utter disrespect for guests paying 160.00 a night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank astaticpunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Spartanburg North, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear astaticpunk,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the eagerness of the cleaning staff prevented you from enjoying your time at the hotel. We always suggest using the Do Not Disturb sign provided in the room to ensure that extra bit of sleeping in the morning. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, and continued loyalty as an IHG Rewards Club member.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenhartsville, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

The beds were comfortable, my kids had fun in the pool and breakfast was better than I expected. Yvette in the breakfast area was FANTASTIC! Very sweet and quick to respond when we needed help with the pancake machine. There never seemed to be a shortage on anything, Yvette was always on top of everything.

My only complaint is the rooms and breakfast area were very warm.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheresaM880, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Spartanburg North, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank You so much for staying with us and writing that nice review. I will pass along the nice comment on to our new breakfast host Yvette.I hope in the future that you guys come back and see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora, MS
Level Contributor
108 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We loved staying here. The facilities feel new and clean and very quiet. Our room was comfortable and the hotel front desk staff were friendly and helpful. We are fast becoming friends of HI express. The breakfast was well laid out and the room was pleasant for hanging out.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annet108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheresaM880, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Spartanburg North, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
First of all Thank you for staying with us. We strive on the Cleanliness and the freshness of the hotel. I hope on your next visit to Spartanburg you come back to see us. Have a Wonderful Day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I've stayed in a lot of hotels over the last two years, and this is by far the best one yet. The room was clean and spacious. Restroom was clean. Linens were clean. Work desk is a nice size and is able to hold the copy machine too. Plenty of accessible recepticles. They have a self service laundry room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lostinthedustbowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad K, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Spartanburg North, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and reviewing your recent stay with us. We also like to think that we are the best around and it is nice to hear it from guests as well. We do take pride in our guest service as well as our housekeeping and maintenance service. It is always nice when guests acknowledge it. The hotel does provide spacious desks which allows any business traveler ample space to work as well as having a place to set a few small office equipment items to use at the same time. Again we thank you for your review and we look forward to having you with us whenever you are in Spartanburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
127 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Holiday Inn Express Spartanburg North is a very nice overall hotel.
- Checkin was fast and accurate
- Warm cookies await your arrival
- Acknowledgement of Priority Club Membership with bottle water and a bag of chips
- Comfortable Bedding
- Extremely Clean
- Standard Room has no refrigerator or microwave (unusual for express?)
- Highway Noise (poor sound insulation) can be a bit overwhelming at times with the trucks
- Wireless Internet 3.0 Megs (yes, I test speeds)
- Flat Screen HD
- Big Rooms
- Standard express breakfast selection
- Just off the highway
- NO PETS!
- Single Cup Coffee Maker
- Nice Staff

I would recommend this hotel for my fellow road warriors.

Safe Travels!

Room Tip: Ask for a room opposite of the highway for less noise, the staff is well aware of the noise issue a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Land&Sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad K, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Spartanburg North, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
We appreciate your thorough review and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We value all of our guests and we like to thank those that are Priority Club Members. We do recommend that guests request a quiet room if they are sensitive to noise while trying to sleep. We do our best to accommodate those requests if available. We hope to see you again while in Spartanburg and thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spartanburg hotels
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Spartanburg-I-26-Westgate Mall
7.7 mi away
Comfort Suites At WestGate Mall
7.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#10 of 28 in Spartanburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
5.1 mi away
Spartanburg Marriott
Spartanburg Marriott
#2 of 28 in Spartanburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
7.1 mi away
Residence Inn Spartanburg
Residence Inn Spartanburg
#6 of 28 in Spartanburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Spartanburg North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Spartanburg North

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Spartanburg North
Address: 161 Sha Ln, Spartanburg, SC 29307-5543
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Spartanburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Spartanburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Spartanburg North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the brand new Holiday Inn Express & Suites at I-85 Spartanburg North, South Carolina. We offer 91 comfortable, modern leisure rooms and upgraded executive suites. All our rooms feature flat panel LCD televisions and over-sized work space, perfect for the business or leisure traveler. We also offer an indoor pool, fitness center, guest laundry, business center and over 1000 square feet of meeting space.Come experience our new look and feel and all the same award winning hospitality you ve come to expect. We ve got just what you need to relax, conduct business or recharge while on the road, and now we have it all in an updated, fresh contemporary atmosphere with all the same great amenities: free long distance calling, free wireless Internet access and our new hot breakfast bar. Located just 4 miles from Mary Black Hospital and Spartanburg Regional Hospital and only 5 miles from downtown Spartanburg. We are the perfect choice when you re traveling to Spartanburg for business or for pleasure. You couldn t make a smarter choice when visiting Spartanburg! We are just minutes from USC Spartanburg, Converse College, Wofford College, Spartanburg Memorial Auditorium, Spartanburg Tech, Cowpens National Battlefield and Gaffney Shopping Outlets. Come see why the Holiday Inn Express & Suites at I-85 Spartanburg North just got a whole lot smarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Spartanburg North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Spartanburg North Hotel Spartanburg
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Spartanburg North
Holiday Inn Express Spartanburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing