We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Simpsonville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Garden House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Simpsonville B&B and Inns
Shawnee, Kansas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I have had the oppurtunity to stay at this wonderful B&B twice. The house and grounds of this place are fantastic. Always spotless and well maintained. The owners are wonderfully gracious and flexible, unlike some B&B's I've stayed at that have curfews. This is great for a girls weekend or a couples retreat. It is also wonderful for small business meetings as it has a small conference room. All rooms are beautifully decorated. Great place to relax.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristineDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
43
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at The Garden House Bed & Breakfast. We felt very comfortable and relaxed during our stay. Our room and bath were very clean with a good size closet. Frances prepared a delicious breakfast each morning which we thoroughly enjoyed; we had one breakfast on the back porch overlooking the manicured lawn/garden (very nice!!). Frances directed us to a couple of outstanding, local restaurants that impressed us both by the quality and sophistication of the food. We plan on returning to the Garden House for our next venture into the Greenville area. Ray and Frances: Many thanks for making our stay most memorable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

As part of our trip to the Upcountry of South Carolina we booked four nights at the Garden House Bed & Breakfast in Simpsonville. Our primary objective was Greenville with its revitalized downtown CBD. Simpsonville proved to be located a short convenient drive away from Greenville. There are also other commercial hotspots nearby, bordering the excellent highway system.

The Garden House, expertly managed by Frances and Roy, is a spacious modern Victorian Style home with high ceilings and beautiful furnishings. Our room had the most comfortable bed in which we have ever slept. The room had a walk-in closet which allowed us to store our "stuff" and to keep the attractive bay-windowed space uncluttered throughout our stay. The breakfasts were delicious, different each day, and filling enough to keep us going as we explored Greenville and surrounding communities. We loved the big fluffy towels and the large-sized bathroom. The public rooms are gigantic but inviting. There are both front and back porches if you are so inclined to relax and enjoy the yard (Roy's work).

The yard is gorgeous with well chosen plant species and flowers. The trees shade the house in a protective manner. Off street parking is provided. There is also a space out front to off load and load your vehicle.

Frances and Roy are very approachable and informative. We enjoyed their company and advice. Our talks with them made our visit even more memorable.

We would not hesitate in recommending Garden House to others. We certainly would stay there again upon returning to the Greenville area.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful. There is not a downside to any of the rooms we observed. The first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerbobarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

The Garden House Bed & Breakfast is exquisite! Gorgeous gardens! Gorgeous home...inside and out! The most friendly Innkeepers, Roy and Frances! Very accommodating! Feels like home!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hideeho1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

On a recent trip part of a Mother's Day present and family visit, my wife and I decided to stay at The Garden House B&B instead of the usual hotel. We found it by looking in the internet for reviews of any B&B at our final destination, Simpsonville, SC. It had excellent reviews so we decided to give it a shot.

We were more than pleased that we did. Start with the fact that this is not a house. It is a gorgeous mansion kept immaculate by the owner, Frances Shelton. The outside photo you see in their website does not do justice to the inside.

We arrived in late afternoon and Mrs. Shelton received us in a very friendly manner and took us to our room. We were the only couple that night which was in the middle of the week.

Our second floor room was very spacious, very well appointed.

When we went downstairs, we met Roy Shelton. He is a retired US Marine colonel. He immediately said, I'm having a beer, would you like one or wine. I opted for wine. My wife does not drink so she was offered a soft drink which she accepted. We had a very friendly conversation about things like family, etc. Because my wife is an avid gardener the conversation turned to that. Mr. Shelton is the one who keeps it tip-top shape. We walked around it for a while admiring all the flowers, plants, birds, trees that make up the really beautiful garden. The place could not be named in any other way. Very quiet, perfect for relaxation.

Next morning, we had a fantastic breakfast-pear pancakes with southern ham, fresh orange juice and fruits. We were seated in the porch overlooking the garden. Really spectacular! We were sorry we were only staying one day.

We certainly recommend this excellent B&B to anyone visiting the greater Greenville SC area.

Room Tip: Every room is excellent, just a very quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pawnee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We were most pleasantly surprised at this magnificent place. The house is beautiful and very welcoming. It is a large house with lots of spaces to sit, relax, talk, just have some quiet time or whatever you like. Porches are huge and numerous. Rooms are large, VERY comfortable, and reasonably priced. The B & B has beautiful, huge gardens with paths for strolling and places for sitting. Breakfasts are great too.

This is such a pretty place, it seems to be a favorite for weddings and similar events. It is a large Victorian style house, but very modern inside (bathrooms, etc) and furnished with lovely antiques.

It is a short hop to downtown Greenville which is an experience you won't want to miss.

Simpsonville is a walkable little town. You can walk to dinner at a restaurant which is nice. Folks there are very friendly.

Yes, we plan to return to the Garden House and we would recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grandmomx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

I don't write many reviews here but noticed this B&B has no review -- and that's a shame!

My husband and I frequently stay at B&B's throughout the country while traveling. I was taken aback by how spacious The Garden House Bed & Breakfast was. The bedroom was huge and the adjoining bathroom had two sinks, a jacuzzi bathtub and enclosed shower. The bedroom also doors leading to a back porch overlooking the gardens. The decor of The Garden House is classy but comfortable. The grounds are lovely to walk through and the breakfast was delicious (apple pancake, bacon, eggs, fresh fruit). The owners could not have been more gracious.

Again, the spaciousness of this B&B struck me. Highly recommended!

We hope to return again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpsonville
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 8 in Simpsonville
112 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn Simpsonville-Greenville
11.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Greenville / Simpsonville
7.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Greenville
Hilton Garden Inn Greenville
#5 of 64 in Greenville
700 reviews
11.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown Riverplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden House Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Garden House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 302 S Main St, Simpsonville, SC 29681-2606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Simpsonville
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Simpsonville
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely up to date Victorian house with 5 guest rooms,each with private bathrooms, cable tv, bathrobes, iron, ironing board, free wifi, hot breakfasts. Lots of common space inside, outside porches and gardens to relax in. Walking distance to cafes and shops in Simpsonville. Only 20 minutes to Main Street in Greenville, SC. Wonderful restaurants, Falls Park, with lots to do and see! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing