We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A hidden gem behind the barn door.”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of Riverside Barn

Main House and Riverside Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main House and Riverside Barn
Main door to Barn Lounge with river views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Main House and Riverside Barn
Main door to Barn
Lounge with river views
Dining area
Well equipped kitchen
Kitchen
Breakfast bar in kitchen
Double bedroom ensuite
Twin bedroom ensuite
Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom
Landing reading area
View from terrace
View from double bedroom
Nearby Montmorillon
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
La Trimouille, Vienne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Littleoli...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A hidden gem behind the barn door.”
Reviewed May 13, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Spent a week in this stunning Gite. You enter via the large grey barn door and into a wonderful courtyard filled with blossom trees and many other fragrant plants.
The accommodation is immaculate and has everything you need. Nicky and Ken are extremely welcoming and nothing is a problem, we were told on many occasions to treat it like home. Special touches upon arrival was a delicious home made cake, butter, cheese and milk in the fridge and a fresh French stick not to mention the bottle of red wine. Sitting on the patio for breakfast every morning whilst watching the wildlife was wonderful. A small supermarket is nearby for provisions. We will definitely return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 14, 2018
Thank you so much for your kind words, it was a pleasure to welcome you both during our first year of running the gite. Great guests and so pleased you enjoyed the Barn as much as we do. We would love to see you return soon and always welcome. Best Wishes Nicky, Ken and Zephyr
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LunarLove
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven!”
Reviewed May 12, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We stayed at the Riverside barn for a week whilst helping relatives renovate their house, our intentions were to just use the gite as a base for eating and sleeping, but it is such lovely relaxing place in idyllic surroundings that when we left at the end of the week, despite the work, we felt as if we had had a holiday!
The owners Nicky and Ken (and zephyr the dog) are lovely welcoming people, and their gite is just perfect, it sits right at the rivers edge, (my favourite breakfasting place) and has everything you could ever want in a gite, it is bright, clean and extremely well equipped and has oodles of little personal touches which go above and beyond what you would normally expect.
It is without doubt the best gite I have ever stayed in and I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.
Well done Nicky, Ken and Zephyr, it is a credit to you!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 19, 2018
Thank you so much for your great comments, you were lovely guests and so pleased you had a little spare time to enjoy the gîte amongst all your hard work. We hope to see you return very soon especially as you brought the sunshine with you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesca...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect picturesque getaway”
Reviewed April 10, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

This gorgeous gite has a rustic French exterior and is cosy and tasteful inside - with the river la benaize and wonderful countryside walks on your doorstep. Arrived to a generous complimentary welcome basket and great recommendations for places to explore and eat from Ken and Nic (the owners). They told us of their small dog on the premises prior to arrival but he had no impact on our stay at all. The gite is very private and the area is tranquil and picturesque - would definitely recommend!

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 11, 2018
Thank you for your kind comments it was a pleasure to meet you all. Zephyr sends you his best tail wags and we hope to see you all again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue-tina
stockport
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed April 10, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first visit to France and it wont be our last ! We arrived really late due to getting lost Nicola &Ken still had a smile and a warm welcome ☺The gite is lovely everything you need we had a great welcome pack even an home made cake which was a really nice touch & lovely . Best wishes for your future we will be back when the sun is shinning and the shops are open

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 11, 2018
Hi Sue thanks for your comments, it was a pleasure to meet you all and look forward to seeing you all again. We will put an order in for some sunshine on your next visit
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanallan...
South Shields, United Kingdom
1 review
“A haven of peace and beauty.”
Reviewed April 8, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We spent ten wonderful days in The Riverside Barn. This property is perfect for a great family holiday with beautiful views over the River Bernaize. It is perfectly situated to visit heritage sites or just enjoy travelling to the charming medieval towns and villages in the area.
Although this is a new adventure for Nic and Ken, they were able to advise on the various restaurant and attractions we should visit in La Trimouille. We'll definitely visit again. We wish them every success in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 10, 2018
Thank you for your lovely review you were a pleasure to host. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future on your next visit to France.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing