We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Couldn't ask for anything more.”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Gargunnock, Stirling, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Martha C
Montrose, Colorado
1 review
“Couldn't ask for anything more.”
Reviewed October 10, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Our summer trip in Scotland was extra special because of this stay. The host family was amazingly gracious and kind. Will most definitely be back.

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The host family & setting
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
79reid16
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Lovely and peaceful.”
Reviewed September 19, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed at Old Leckie for several days in early July and wished we could stay longer. The cottage was cozy and very comfortably and tastefully furnished. And Alison and Fergus were helpful and friendly, starting with the fresh bread and butter and bottle of wine that others have noted. It was a delight to explore the lanes and footpaths on our own as well as tour parts of the farm and tower house with Alison. The surrounding countryside and villages were lovely, too. We hope to return soon!

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter A
1 review
“If you are looking for the beauty of Scotland you will find it here.”
Reviewed August 30, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I had the utmost privilege of staying on Old Leckie Farmstay near Stirling for a week with Alison and her family. From day one Alison was the perfect host and gave us a tour of her farm and the accommodation. For a small family, a group of friends, or even a couple the accommodation was perfect. It was clean, well decorated with all the amenities, and the Internet worked very well.

Around the farm there are magnificent sites to see like clear streams and waterfalls, green hills, gorgeous landscape and scenery. Everything was supplied that you would need and if you didn’t have it Alison was there to assist. There is something magical about this place and I hope one day to see it again. I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The farm and the host
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 5, 2014
Thanks for the review - was lovely to have you and your family here - well done for the extra effort given you didn't have a car! Have a great Oz summer...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trippingt...
Santorini, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Beautiful modern farmhouse in stunning location!”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We booked this farmhouse for a mini-break with the kids before they went back to School in August. I can honestly say that this is one of the most pleasurable stays away I have experienced for many years and I know my wife and kids felt the same.

Fresh bread, milk and butter on arrival with a bottle of wine - not only a practical thought but one that smacked of high level of customer service and great attention to detail.
The farmhouse had everything in it you could possibly need and when Alison told us her and her husband had only been running it for a few months I was incredulous as it was so well run and organised I felt sure they had been renting out for years!

The bedrooms were roomy, exceptionally clean, well equipped and decorated to a high standard. I have to have a decent shower in the morning to survive the day and I wasn't disappointed here!

If you are after a quiet and peaceful break with a rural feel to it but also close to urban life in Stirling, Glasgow or Edinburgh, then this ticks all the boxes.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and Tranquility but easy access to local facilities
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2014
Thanks so much for your great comments and feedback - we've tried hard to offer a really high quality farmstay experience so we are delighted to be on the right track! hope to see you guys back at some point...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myislandh...
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing... Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Great interaction with home owners who were very attentive right from the first communication. Amazing property - great attention to detail. Lovely welcome gifts left for us which were much appreciated :)

We felt so at home as a family - there was a lovely wood-burning stove for cosy nights in, and plenty of books to read. We also toasted marshmallows on the firepit outside. Had a tour of the farm on the quad bike and our kids fed some of the animals.

We can't wait to return. We have travelled a lot and this is one of our favourite places we have ever stayed!!

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Arriving
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding Accommodation set in beautiful scenery and ran by a lovely family.”
Reviewed June 28, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Outstanding Accommodation set in beautiful scenery and ran by a lovely family.
The converted Farm Building has been lovingly decorated to an exceptional standard. We were impressed by the level of detail and thought that has gone into the making the accommodation comfortable, practical and well equipped yet luxurious.
The hospitality and friendliness of the hosts made our stay especially enjoyable.
We loved pottering around the farm, watching and hearing the farms animals as well as observing the local nature which was ever present. Our Nieces and Nephews loved the tour of the Farm provided by our hosts, especially feeding the young calves and siting in the Tractor.
Being superbly located in central Scotland, visiting Edinburgh, Glasgow or Perth is all possible. Furthermore, as Stirling is nearby there is a multitude of days out and activities to keep all age groups interested within easy reach.
The scenery surrounding the Farm Stay is stunning and there are delightful walks immediately on your doorstep taking you to nearby Villages with local shops as well as good pubs and Restaurants.
Thoroughly recommend the Farm Stay for either a weekend away or an extended stay. We have only great Memories of our stay on the Farm and look forward to visiting again…

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Arriving
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTRitchie
Lochgilphead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stylish, comfortable, tranquil & practical”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

A gorgeous conversion of a traditional farm building, in a stunning setting. The accommodation feels luxurious but not too precious - a great mix as I traveled alone and met up with friends with kids. The central location means it is easy to travel to Glasgow or Edinburgh by car or train, but also there is an abundance of attractions in Stirling for adults and children - safari park, Stirling castle, plus a good shopping mall for teenagers!
Alison and Fergus couldn't have been more welcoming and friendly. The children were enthralled by the hens and lambs, plus the farm fresh eggs were delicious.
Couldn't recommend this place highly enough.

Date of stay: March 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Feeling totally relaxed
Liked least: Not being able to spend more time there
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
$USD
United States
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.