We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slow Service unless you're at the bar...”

The Spot on the Alley
Ranked #10 of 94 Restaurants in Seneca
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Seneca, South Carolina
Level Contributor
219 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Slow Service unless you're at the bar...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Just returned from lunch at the Spot. Sat at a table, 20 feet from the bar. 1 PM, lunch time. No servers, only one bartender. Although she called me "hon" when she arrived, her arrival was dependent on serving her clients at the bar. Which means service was slooooow. I had to walk to the bar for a drink refill. Not a major problem, but if they want lunch business, I believe they should be prepared to offer resonable service.
Having said that, the cajun chicken wrap and house made potato chips were very tasty, and honestly, I will return, hoping for better service next time.
Or perhaps I should sit at the bar and drink beer, where I can be assured of first rate service. After all, this place is a bar...

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SCTravelerandskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    28
    11
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great bar staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

Congratulations to the bar staff on the weekend of the Seneca Festival in May. The place was packed and they did a great job! Service was very good, and they worked non-stop to make sure everyone was taken care of.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lolasayshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, South Carolina
Level Contributor
98 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Bar and Grill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

The Spot is the place downtown to enjoy a bar and grill experience. The menu features the best burgers and wings in town, generous salads, and great sandwiches. My favs include the cowboy burger and the cajunyaki wings. The beer menu is wide and includes my personal fav, Stella Artois. They can make any drink you order and have many specials. April thru October on Thursday nights bring the popular Jazz on the Alley, live music and great food from 6:30 to 9:00. Definitely do that when you are in town. The Spot will not disappoint.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrbigdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, South Carolina
Level Contributor
120 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Sports Grill and Bar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

Food is not something I would go back for- more enjoyable to hang out- have a beer- watch a sporting event.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bknowing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenville, SC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“good bar food but smoking is annoying”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

Great bar food, servers are friendly...only hang up for us is the smoking. We try to come in early for dinner so we can skip the smoke from the bar.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank moresunplease5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Spot on the Alley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing