We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring Golf Trip 2013”
Review of Clark's Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clark's Inn
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Santee
Gastonia, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Spring Golf Trip 2013”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We have a group of about 24-28 folks that go on our Spring Golf outing each year to Santee and stay at Clarks Inn. Beds have always been comfortable and rooms clean for us. Restaurant in front has some great food for breakfast and supper. Nice to grab a good meal after a day of golf, get cleaned up, and short walk instead of a drive. Friendly service each visit. We don't need for much and Clarks Inn has everything we need to get prepred for another day of golf coming up.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grady D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    68
    24
    14
    16
See reviews for
48
81
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

If you are traveling on I95 this is a convient area to stop. This was our second time staying at Clark's. The room itself is nice, however the bathrooms are very worn. The restaurant is fair. The table clothes are green plastic and very sticky. If you are looking to stay one night in a fairly inexpensive motel, it would be ok. The restaurant is not inexpensive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pointhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stay at Clarks the first night of my drive (both ways) between the Tampa Bay area and Washington DC. It’s convenient (a mile off I95), inexpensive, clean, and as a solo traveler, this hotel seems safer than most just off the interstate. Clark’s is privately owned and has a full service restaurant and bar (their fried green tomatoes should win an award) where you can have a great meal after a long drive. There’s coffee in the lobby and you can opt in for breakfast at check in. The hotel has a decent, if not fancy pool and there is a major chain drug store a few feet away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CWFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manalapan,NJ
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

After driving for several hours, we saw the billboard ad for Clark's in Santee. What a wonderful surprise. Food was excellent, service so gentile and pleasant and helpful. It not only satisfied our palates, but relaxed us for the next 200 miles. And it had an adorable gift shop.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharonmanalapan_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, NY
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

For many years on our way from NY to Florida my husband & I have made Clark's our halfway stop. While a little bit aged the rooms have always been clean and comfortable. But the best part was dinner! After a long drive, enjoying a cocktail in the lounge was most relaxing followed by our favorite meal in the dining room, southern fried chicken! One of the pleasures of driving is stopping where you want and Clark's is always first on our list!

Room Tip: Never used the pool or fitness center, Staff was always friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fitzrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa fl
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Purposely stayed here due to having a great lunch at the restaurant on a previous trip and were not disappointed. The room was clean and the property well maintained. The included breakfast was a treat - far better than the usual buffet.
We enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clsgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We were traveling down I 95, and this was a one night stop over. We stayed across the street at the Quality Inn because it is pet-friendly....not particularly human friendly, but that's another review.
Clark's Inn was across the street and within easy walking distance from our hotel room, so we
tried it. The exterior is welcoming, with southern charm and tiny white lights. The restaurant interior was cosy, the staff attentive, and the meal fantastic. To think, we walked to Wendy's first and then decided that we really needed some decent food.
We were offered our choice of dining room or bar, and we chose the bar. It was paneled in dark wood with comfortable seating, and had a fireplace just around the corner in case you had to wait. We chose a seafood platter, battered catfish, split a salad, and apple crisp for dessert. The entire meal, every bite, was delicious. The seafood platter was from fresh catch, the salad was
HUGE, crisp, and filled with cranberries and pecans. There were two large pieces of catfish, so good I wanted to lick the plate. When we mentioned that to our server, he mentioned that it was
fresh from the local lake, Lake Marion. He said that they had tried some frozen catfish because it was a great deal, but then returned to the fresh, so we lucked out. The meal was so delicious that we forced ourselves to try the apple crisp. It was very good, not great, and dolloped with real whipped cream. This restaurant is not inexpensive, but the salad could have been a meal and it was about the same price as Wendy's. About $6.50. Can't remember the other prices, but I'm sure they post a menu. Certainly a pleasant surprise in this little town.

Room Tip: N/A. Did not stay at this Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mimzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santee hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Santee
Hampton Inn Santee
#1 of 13 in Santee
724 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Santee Inn
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Santee
Holiday Inn Santee
#4 of 13 in Santee
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#6 of 13 in Santee
184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Santee
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#12 of 13 in Santee
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clark's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clark's Inn

Property: Clark's Inn
Address: 114 Bradford Blvd, Santee, SC 29142-8931
Location: United States > South Carolina > Santee
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Santee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 75
Also Known As:
Clarks Hotel Santee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing