We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant stay”
Review of Clark's Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clark's Inn
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Santee
tampa fl
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“pleasant stay”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Purposely stayed here due to having a great lunch at the restaurant on a previous trip and were not disappointed. The room was clean and the property well maintained. The included breakfast was a treat - far better than the usual buffet.
We enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clsgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    67
    24
    13
    14
See reviews for
48
77
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We were traveling down I 95, and this was a one night stop over. We stayed across the street at the Quality Inn because it is pet-friendly....not particularly human friendly, but that's another review.
Clark's Inn was across the street and within easy walking distance from our hotel room, so we
tried it. The exterior is welcoming, with southern charm and tiny white lights. The restaurant interior was cosy, the staff attentive, and the meal fantastic. To think, we walked to Wendy's first and then decided that we really needed some decent food.
We were offered our choice of dining room or bar, and we chose the bar. It was paneled in dark wood with comfortable seating, and had a fireplace just around the corner in case you had to wait. We chose a seafood platter, battered catfish, split a salad, and apple crisp for dessert. The entire meal, every bite, was delicious. The seafood platter was from fresh catch, the salad was
HUGE, crisp, and filled with cranberries and pecans. There were two large pieces of catfish, so good I wanted to lick the plate. When we mentioned that to our server, he mentioned that it was
fresh from the local lake, Lake Marion. He said that they had tried some frozen catfish because it was a great deal, but then returned to the fresh, so we lucked out. The meal was so delicious that we forced ourselves to try the apple crisp. It was very good, not great, and dolloped with real whipped cream. This restaurant is not inexpensive, but the salad could have been a meal and it was about the same price as Wendy's. About $6.50. Can't remember the other prices, but I'm sure they post a menu. Certainly a pleasant surprise in this little town.

Room Tip: N/A. Did not stay at this Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mimzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhaven, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We have been going to the inn for well over 12 years.This year was a sad disappointment. No refrigerator was hooked up, telephone not working, when I went to get assistant they said there was nothing that could be done they were closing, when we plugged in refrigerator it made loud noises and was obviously broken. The toilet was broken as it made loud noises throughout the night. Therefore our sleep and stay was not a pleasant one.Next morning when I went to office again didn't, seem to care.
Another negative was the lobby stench of stale smoke.

On a positive the restaurant was 5 star .. The fried chicken which is why we come twice a year was the best we. Ever had.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cheryl363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYNY
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I dare say thousands of travelers along the I-95 corridor miss Santee, SC because they blink when passing this agreeable hamlet at 80 mph. Santee amounts to little more than one long street, dominated by a number of franchise motels/hotels and restaurants. One exception is Clark's Inn. I can't review its accomodations; I didn't stay, having booked a roomm down the street. But judging from the appointments of its public spaces, I'd guess the rooms are just fine. And the restaurant is very good. Also, they offer room with a real breakfast for around 90 bux -- not the cellophane-wrapped dreck and pale coffee that goes for breakfast, continental breakfast, even deluxe breakfast in American roadside motels and hotels these days. My dining experience at Clark's was terrific. We arrived at 8:30 (they serve until 9:00). But here's the thing: If it's Clark's superb fried chicken you yearn for, get there before 8:20. But our waitress realized the hostess had failed to issue this caveat and took the order anyway. It was a good thing. Clark's chicken may be tied but probably not beat. And a half chicken is about 15 bux. The wine list is modest but just fine for upscale chicken and the dessert cart a serious threat to those with midriff expansion issues. The service was very but not excessively friendly, and on future trips along I-95 or its reasonable vicinity, we will probably pace it in order to make Clark's a stop. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JamBaytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We always look for places that are not part of a chain, and that relect a sampling of the local culture. This is one of those places. We felt at home and wanted to stay longer. Where else does one find bookshelves (with a great sampling of books) in a hotel room? According to the sign, they have been in business since 1946. The price was reasonable and included a breakfast served in the stunning dining room. No make-make-your-own waffles and froot loops in this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nancy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Main restaurant/lounge building is the real attraction here as it draws in the people and is beautifully decorated. Breakfast was included in the room rate so we went to the restaurant and it was just ok, nothing special and if we had to pay the menu prices I would have been disappointed as they were pretty steep. The hotel is dated and while the beds were comfy and the room was clean (could have used a bit better vacuuming), the walls are very thin and not at all soundproof. Fortunately our neigbors on both sides went to bed by 11:00 so it wasn’t too much of an issue, but we were awakened a couple of times by people wheeling their luggage on the upper floor external hallways. I probably won’t return as I think there are better deals in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RickyH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
Level Contributor
146 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is the best hotel in the area of Santee for an overnight when traveling I-95. Easy to find,
and convenient. Restaurant, though a bit overpriced with mediocre to average food, was right next door and very pretty with the holiday decorations. Great wine list and service with an elegant setting. The lounge next door was beautiful and our bartender was very helpful and sweet. Breakfast included on a package was a pleasant surprise, with a sit down hot breakfast at the same restaurant right next door. Our room was very clean. And with no smoking or pets allowed here, the room had a fresh smell which was appreciated. Wierd thing was the total lack of hangers in the closet (though front desk said she could get some, we were fine without). Coffee in the room was a choice of decaf or decaf...that did not work for us, but the waitress in the restaurant was really nice and offered us "to go" cups of "real" coffee which worked out perfectly. Tube style TV, though dated worked just fine. No mini fridge or microwave in the room, but were not needed for us, thus not missed. Big suggestion: Ask for room on the other side (west side) of the hotel. Though the hotel is far enough from the busy interstate not to have a lot of noise, the vacant parking lot directly across the street in front of the motel units had truckers arriving for the night, with one that left his truck motor running all night. That made it very difficult to get a peaceful sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for room on the west side of the hotel to avoid noise from the truckers parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nautifish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santee hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Santee
Hampton Inn Santee
#1 of 13 in Santee
700 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Santee Inn
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Santee
Holiday Inn Santee
#4 of 13 in Santee
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#6 of 13 in Santee
177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Santee
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#12 of 13 in Santee
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clark's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clark's Inn

Property: Clark's Inn
Address: 114 Bradford Blvd, Santee, SC 29142-8931
Location: United States > South Carolina > Santee
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Santee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 75
Also Known As:
Clarks Hotel Santee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing