We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Independent Overnighter on I-95” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clark's Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clark's Inn
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Santee
Gulfport, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very Good Independent Overnighter on I-95”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Our family had 2 rooms at Clark's while we were travelling home on I-95. We enjoyed our stay very much. We like to support independent businesses, hotels included, though sometimes that can lead to disappointment. Not in this case. Clark's has been in business for many generations, so this is not a new property with the most modern of bells and whistles, but it is great for comfortable, clean accommodations. Location is right off I95. The front desk clerk was very friendly and informative. The grounds are well-maintained. Rooms are basic but nicely-appointed. Rooms included free breakfast in the morning in the dining room with a list of options that were reasonable and tasty. We also greatly enjoyed our dinner at the restaurant that evening. We would happily stay at Clark's again while passing through the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gulfportmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    65
    24
    13
    13
See reviews for
44
75
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sebastian, FL
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a delightful dinner in the cozy dining room of this historic inn. The scallops and oysters in the Calabash Seafood Platter were the best I have ever tasted and my husband's salmon in a honey butter sauce was outstanding. The service was excellent and the desserts were not to be missed. After dinner, we enjoyed browsing in the well stocked gift shop. Dinner for two with dessert but without alcoholic beverages totaled $78 which was a bit pricey but given the quality of the food and service, along with the beautiful setting, it was well worth it.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyberyaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
222 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

Frankly I stay here because of the restauant (see separate review). The modernization of the romms has helped trmendously as the rooms and bathrooms are clean and fresh. That said, my bathroom floor was wewt on arrival and I suspect that there was a leak somewhere. The upgrade did not include the amenities for easily accessible laptop hookup, cell phone recharging, etc.

Check-in was bothersome as my room with a prior reservation was not assigned, but I ended up with what I requested. Check out was easy!

With some reservations, this is a great alternative to the chains and worth the stop.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rolftowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butte, Montana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

Spent a week in Santee golfing with 23 other guys. Great hotel, clean, quite, breakfast included. A full breakfast not a do it your self breakfast. Nice hotel well maintained. Close to I-95 and lots of golf courses. We played a different course each day for six days. I liked Santee National the best.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

We had heard so much about Clark's Inn and Restaurant that we wanted to try it on one of our trips south. On the first trip we could not get a room, but enjoyed dinner at the restaurant. The food was good, but the best part was the bar and lounge with the comfy leather sofas and quiet atmosphere where we enjoyed a glass of wine and visited with other guests.
On our second trip, we stayed at the Inn in one of the 50's style buildings, and were a bit disappointed. The room needed a severe facelift--faucets leaked, towel bars coming loose from the wall, door to the bedroom would not stay open, windows were small with no view, TVs were old and outdated! They did have free WiFi,however,! A welcomed plus!
We stayed in a suite, which was nice because it had a living room with a fridge and microwave. However, the sofa, was a very uncomfortable place to sit. The room was clean and the bed comfortable, but when we entered it had a musty smell. These things obviously do not bother golfers, as the property was full of men from as far away as Canada. They said it was the best golf destination on the east coast--beating Myrtle Beach! Perhaps next time we will come as golfers and not be disturbed by the unattractiveness of the room! One nice addition was the complimentary, full hot breakfast. We would probably go back, but with different expectations.

Room Tip: It is possible that the only suites are in one of the 50's style buildings, but If we go back, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pewterrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williamsburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

stopped on way to Fl. and to scout out for large group long golf week end in May. Glad we checked. Room was filthy, bed was lumpy, TV out of the 80's. AC/Heat unit was so noisy we had to shut it off and sleep with no ventilation. Wake up call did not work, Desk was sarcastic about mistake. Food was ok to good in restaurant but didn't come close to making up for filthy room. Old fashion tub and shower. Tiny soap samples , etc. needs to be town down, Too many really nice places in town... with better rates....

Room Tip: stayed at the Holiday Express next night for less money
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

We checked in at the night window at about 12:30 am. Inspection of the room was suitable. Police cruiser came by while we were in the parking lot. Quiet room, nice staff, very nice full breakfast in their restaurant included in our AARP/AAA rate.

Room Tip: 2nd floor available only by stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GMBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santee hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Santee
Hampton Inn Santee
#1 of 13 in Santee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Santee Inn
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#6 of 13 in Santee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Santee
Holiday Inn Santee
#3 of 13 in Santee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Santee
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#12 of 13 in Santee
3.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clark's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clark's Inn

Property: Clark's Inn
Address: 114 Bradford Blvd, Santee, SC 29142
Location: United States > South Carolina > Santee
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Santee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 75
Also Known As:
Clarks Hotel Santee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing