We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Area Run Down Cabins” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santee State Park

Santee State Park
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Santee
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Myrtle Beach, SC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Area Run Down Cabins”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed a long weekend with friends and were amazed how nice the location was. Unfortunately, the waterfront cabins we rented were very run down and in need of repair. For starters the toilet backed up into the shower on our first day. Although it was repaired quickly we needed to clean up the mess that was left behind.

I urge caution when walking on the wooden dock platform because many of the boards are loose and in desperate need of replacement.

Our group agreed that we would gladly return to the park but would not consider the cabins until some significant repairs are made.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Logistics04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    58
    25
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Park, Professional Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

The sites are spacious enough, and the bathrooms are clean. This is a very old historic area, and very interesting. The trails and views of the lake are lovely - we saw deer, pileated woodpeckers, and warblers on our hikes. We did also see the feral cats. We wanted to use this place as a laundry stop because they said they had a laundry. This is a single washer and dryer. We made do, but beware if you need to do lots of clothes!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell NM
Level Contributor
263 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Wonderful woodland hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We spent a perfect fall morning hiking around the state park. The trails were well marked, and the weather was perfect. We found it peaceful and quiet and the views were spectacular.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank takrafty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
303 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Water access”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Campground is located really close to the water. Sites are roomy enough. Bath house could use updating. Loads of deer just roaming the area also lots of feral cats prowling the campsite and the park area. They need to do a catch and neuter/spay release on these cats to reduce unwanted kittens. We were there in June and there were lots of bugs so bring bug spray. Nice boat ramp convenient to campgrounds. There is a camp store but did not go in due to no dogs allowed. A sign by the cabins warn of birds attacking car parts and suggests to park elsewhere.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AineFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Day Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We went for a day trip to do some fishing with the kids. It is a really clean park and the facilities are very nice. Our only down fall is the limited on shore fishing area for the public. Only one Pier near the boat landing. We are going to plan a visit and stay the night on one of the cabins on the water. This would be an ideal place for someone who owns a boat. Lots of family fun to be had. (We just had a rainy off day.)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Housold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santee State Park also viewed

 

Been to Santee State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing