We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterfront Cabins Comfortable But Somewhat Shopworn”
Review of Santee State Park

Santee State Park
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Santee
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Waterfront Cabins Comfortable But Somewhat Shopworn”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed for one ful l week at the waterfront cabins. Our family rented 3 cabins total. The positives: cabins were neat and orderly, waterfront views were gorgeous, layout of cabins were very family friendly, they are air conditioned and have several creature comforts. The negatives were: window blinds were broken on several windows, cleanliness of the cabins could be MUCH better, the items in the kitchen were lacking (no measuring cups, no broom anywhere to be found, needed more pots and pans), the cabins are shopworn and need updating.

As for the state park itself it has lots of bells and whistles for visitors: recreation hall, many picnic areas, daily summer activities for kids, fishing docks, nature trails, grilling areas, etc. Lake is pretty though hazardous for boating due to the extreme amount of stumps and trees throughout the edges, center and all parts of this lake, which is a shame.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank A_Real_Carolina_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    68
    26
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Goose Creek, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“impressive”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Loved the lake, the trees in the water, the water hyacinths spread around the water's edge, the wildlife, trails, cabins, definitely a place to return to and spend lots of time!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ullis1260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Getaway”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I love this park because it is so peaceful and clean. The water view is worth the visit alone. The park rangers are knowledgeable and helpful.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn60726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugoff, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very nice park…”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The birding is wonderful. The trails are nice, though a bit confusing at times. I suggest that if you don’t have a Smartphone, carry a GPS; as I do. There are wonderful scenic views. My wife and I are contemplating renting one of the cabins in the fall. I’m think about throwing my old Zodiac and outboard in the back of the pickup next time we go there. That could be fun.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christopher451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great park!”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

There is so much to do in this state park! The setting is beautiful and the playgrounds well maintained. There is a lake, camping, nature trails, cabins, etc. Loved it!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Santee State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing