We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable beds, but tiny bathrooms and eating area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Santee Inn
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Santee
Certificate of Excellence
Saint James, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Comfortable beds, but tiny bathrooms and eating area”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is an old time hotel and you park in front of your room. It also means a hike to breakfast in cold weather, The beds were comfortable. The bathroom was tiny. The heater went on and off all night long, disturbing my husband's sleep. The breakfast area was very small for the amount of tables and chairs, not to mention the people who were trying to move about getting breakfast. The silverware was cheap easy to break plastic. The dishes were thin coated paper. The price was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Gale141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    303
    87
    17
    13
See reviews for
342
383
61
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Surprised at the quality, cleanliness and comfort of this motel. I normally stay at some of the higher priced chains and this was equal or better than some. I will definitely recommend this to any travelers in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank CHRIS T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
292 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We recently stayed here in conjuunction with an annual event nearby. We had been staying at another location in Santee (now - Comfort Inn and Suites) but a change in ownership resulted in their long term manager resigning and the new staff is not nearly as customer friendly. Their prices for our group jumped over 25% !!!. We visited this location based on other reviews and agree that it is the best in Santee. We were very pleased with their willingness to accommodate our group -- 13 rooms which dropped to 9 by the date of arrival (due to weather). All of our group commented on the cleanliness of the rooms and the wonderful complimentary breakfast (better than most with eggs, grits/oatmeal and sausage/bacon along with the standard pastries, fruits and juices). We travel from all over the state and so we spend a lot our time (when not at the event) 'tailgating' and were all on the same side of the building in the back portion of the property (at our request).

We will definitely return next year and hope to be back to our larger group size.

Room Tip: We requested back building and highway noise was not an issue at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toothsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Chose this hotel while on the road based on TripAdvisor reviews. Not disappointed. Old-style single-storey motel with parking directly in front of your room. Large rooms, appointed well. Coffee in room, clean tub (very small bathroom), comfy clean beds, clock with sound machine and media input, fridge and micro.

Breakfast was a little more than usually get at other hotels in this range. Nice large breakfast space. Pool and small workout room.

Owners clearly pay attention to detail, decorations, plantings, appearance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidaystuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmont, NJ
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The Santee Inn is our favorite stop on our trips from NJ to and from Florida. We like the convenient location just off I 95, the friendly service, the really excellent breakfasts, and the parking right at our room. And the AARP rate is very reasonable. Having found the Santee Inn, we no longer look for an overnight stop to/from Florida.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stanemt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stopped here on a Friday night on our way to FL. We had called ahead and reserved a room, which was a good thing, as they ended up being sold out for the night. The gentleman at the front desk was a bit brusque, but efficient in checking us in.

All the rooms are accessed directly from the parking lot, motel-style. Our room had 2 queen-sized beds, and was large enough for two people. The bathroom was on the small size, with only a toilet and a bathroom / shower. The sink was in the alcove outside the bathroom. The television worked fine--no HD, but it received the basic range of stations. The room we had was set back far from the road, and thus was quiet--but I don't think any of the rooms would be very noisy.

Breakfast starts at 6:00 a.m. Not 5:55 a.m. Not 5:59 a.m. Coffee is not available until 6:00, too, so if you want to make an early start, you're on your own.

All in all, a decent place to stay if you want to get in and out quickly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rompin_Rhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santee
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Santee
Hampton Inn Santee
#1 of 13 in Santee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#6 of 13 in Santee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Santee
Holiday Inn Santee
#3 of 13 in Santee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Santee
21.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Manning
Hampton Inn Manning
#1 of 7 in Manning
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
14.1 mi away
Peach Tree Inn
Peach Tree Inn
#1 of 9 in Saint George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Santee Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Santee Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Santee Inn
Address: Interstate 95, Exit 98, P.O. Box 188, Santee, SC 29142 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Santee Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Santee
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Santee Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Best Western, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Plus Santee Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Santee Hotel Santee
Best Western Santee
Santee Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing