We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely poor service”

Clark's Inn and Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 36 Restaurants in Santee
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Clark's Restaurant is Santee's Favorite Place for Food & Spirits. A truly exceptional dining experience, Clark's offers guests three beautifully furnished dining rooms including working fireplaces.
Santa Cruz, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Extremely poor service”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

What went wrong:
1. Ordered cup of lobster bisque that never came but was charged for it.
2. For all entrees on menu there were 7 side choices, but they were out of three and we weren't made aware of this until the dinner arrived.
3. The bill came and the soup was charged, and there was no apology for not delivering the soup.
4. Our bill was charged to someone else's card and it took three tries to get it cleared up. Not much of an apology and no offer of a dessert or bill adjustment for all the mistakes in our order.
5. When trying to leave the restaurant before 9:00 we had to ask an employee to unlock the door!

The ambience was nice and the food good but the service was very disappointing and frustrating.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Time2Travel52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    177
    88
    44
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Trenton, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great place for Mother's Day Lunch”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I took my wife, four of my daughters, a son-in-law and five grandchildren here for Mother's Day. We had reservations and were seated promptly. The waiter was efficient and fun. The food was good. Portions were not huge, but sufficient. We will be back, I am sure.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FlaEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Change The Chef?”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I have been coming here, on trips to and from Florida, for 12 years. On my last two trips to Santee I have been disappointed. The fried chicken has changed, and not for the better. The chicken was over cooked, the breading was so bad and gritty i sent it back. My wife thought it tasted like and had the consistency of "Shake And Bake". The bartender, John, couldn't have been nicer and got us a fresh order of "fried chicken", which was marginally better. The service was great. I will give them one more opportunity to give us back the original recipe.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Retailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarks_IR, Manager at Clark's Inn and Restaurant, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
We're very sorry you had a disappointing experience at our restaurant! We haven't changed chefs but as you picked up on we did experiment a bit with the way we prepare the fried chicken. While we only tried the change at night we certainly received more than a few comments about it! You'll be glad to know we have gone back to cooking the fried chicken the same way we do for lunch, which is the way it's been prepared for years here at Clark's. We hope the next time you're in town you'll give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“The food just ok”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We was looking for local restaurant in Santee and after read review we decided Clark's Family restaurant . I order famous fried chicken and I was disappointed it tasteless more better I eat fried chicken chain resto in the menu said crispy but it not crispy at all . The one I like is the ambiance very nice .

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ley s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarks_IR, Manager at Clark's Inn and Restaurant, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
While we are disappointed you didn't have a great experience at Clark's Restaurant we appreciate you taking the time to post and tell us what was wrong. As we noted in another response we did experiment with how we prepare our fried chicken and our customers were very clear about that result not being in line with what they have come to expect from us! We hope you'll try us again as we have returned to the original way we make the fried chicken.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food and drinks”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I stopped here on a weeknight for dinner in the bar. I had a seafood platter that was pretty good. The person that I was with ordered a salad with chicken and cranberries that was massive and delicious. The bartender/server was attentive and funny. Prices were in line with what I was expecting, the seafood platter was around $23 and beers were $4. A table next to us got an order of onion rings that looked amazing. I was disappointed that I had already ordered or I would have tried them. Overall good experience, good food, and I would eat here again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brickskeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clark's Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing