We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep Driving”

Maurices Gourmet Barbeque
Ranked #19 of 36 Restaurants in Santee
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Keep Driving”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

At one time, maybe 15 years ago, Maurice had a good BBQ place. However, now it is dirty, the vinyl booths are torn, the pork is dry, the service is terrible, and the price is high considering the quality of the food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SVTraveller47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    29
    25
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Delaware, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ugh....”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Nasty. Hushpuppies were more like onionpuppies. The Hash had 2 cups of grease floating on top and looked like something that was passed through the system of a sick old woman. Very large dead cockroach by the trash can. I'm talking at least a 3 pounder.
Keep on driving.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HiddenMickeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Avoid at all cost”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

As we stepped up to order at 630 at night we were informed that they were out of half the menu and only had enough ribs for two large orders. The food was nasty. The table cloth kept sticking to our arms. On another note the employees are honest, just not to their boss. As we were sitting in the place, mind you we were the only customers, one employee got a phone call from i guess their boss. I heard the employee tell the person on the phone "sorry we havent gotten to that, we have been swamped all day" then when another poor unlucky customer came in they asked if they were busy, the same employee told them that other then us and the guy they were talking to, they only had one other customer all day. I will never go back to this place

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mspryan34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“I need a shower, feeling dirty”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I talked the family into stopping for lunch based on wonderful memories of Besingers in Columbia.

Like others who have posted, we should have heeded the numerous warning signs...

1. When we pulled up my wife asked me if we really want to eat here, her concerns were based on the landscape consisting of foot high Bahia grass, and potholes in the parking lot.
2. We were stunned at the prices, but soldiered on...
3. The visits to the bathroom are a story in itself. the daughter walked out, and the men's rooms had no soap, on a positive note they had toilet paper.
4. When the food arrived after much anticipation, we realized the missing sign! NO bbq Smoker on the premises, just think: freezer burn.
5. Do not touch the carpet, or put your elbows on the table, good manners will keep them from sticking.

We ate the hush puppies and hightailed it out of there, to decontaminate in the car with hand sanitizer, ready to get back to North Carolina!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelers2223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“overpriced and not so good”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Simple, the food was not very good. The wait was long. The prices were very high.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maurices Gourmet Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing