We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff is great.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Santee
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Santee
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    86
    102
    87
    100
See reviews for
179
134
59
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We checked in to this hotel on 6/1/13 stayed for 7 nights. My family and I couldn't have asked for anything better. The staff was really friendly, we were checked in by the manager Mr. Patel very nice person gave us opinion on some good places to eat. The breakfast everything we were looking for, I didn't have to go to a iHop or McDonalds to enjoy breakfast. By far nicest place to stay in Santee. The rates for very reasonable. No complaints.

Room Tip: IF your looking for a quiet clean environment consider this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Santee, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear, John J
We Thank you for choosing the Howard Johnson Santee. We are Pleased to hear your stay at our hotel was marvelous. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our rise and dine breakfast. Again we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Howard Johnson Santee and Hope to see you in the near future!
Sincerely,
Neal Patel-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaston, South Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Ater booking on line for My wife and I's 36 wedding anniversary, we arrived on June 21st to find the pool (a major selling point for us) was out of service. No mention of this was given before boking room.Was informed from a young person at the front desk,who kept telling me how sorry he was, that the pool would be clean by July 4th. Booked a non-smoking room, Found cigarette burns in bed linen and on the bath tub. On the last day of our stay, The cleaning lady tried to come into the room while my wife and were still asleep.Good thing we had the door bolted.Very Bad experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Santee, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
We are very sorry for the inconveniences that you experienced on this particular visit. As always, we will continue to have our hotel inspected on a regular basis and we will immediately act on even the slightest concerns of our guests so that if a problem arises, we can take care of the situation immediately.
In addition, we have shared your feedback about the tub stains of your room with our management team and our housekeeping team. We strive to offer exceptionally clean accommodations to each and every one of our guests and the situation described above certainly does not live up to those high standards. We have taken appropriate measures to improve the overall experience for our hotel guests and we hope that you will come back to see us again in the future so that we can provide the excellent accommodations and customer service that you and all of our guests deserve.
Sincerely,
Neal Patel-
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

After driving for 8 hours, we looked for a place to stop and sleep. Howard Johnson use to be a great place. Well, not this one. The room really had a badsmell. we asked for non-smoking room, but when you opened the door, it smelled. After turning on the AC, we thought that would help. We left to go eat and came back and thought it was ok. It was not. anything that was on the bed absorded the odor, including my night gown. I could not put it in my suitcase for fear it would make the rest of my clothes smell. I put it and my husband's night clothes in a plastic bag until we culd get home. they went straight into the laundry. We will never stay at another Howard Johnson again.

Room Tip: If it smells when you open the door, go request your money back and go somewhere else. that is what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Santee, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear, Kathy C
We are very sorry for the inconveniences that you experienced on this particular visit. As always, we will continue to have our hotel inspected on a regular basis and we will immediately act on even the slightest concerns of our guests so that if a problem arises, we can take care of the situation immediately.
In addition, we have shared your feedback about the cleanliness/Odor of your room with our management team and our housekeeping team. We strive to offer exceptionally clean accommodations to each and every one of our guests and the situation described above certainly does not live up to those high standards. We have taken appropriate measures to improve the overall experience for our hotel guests and we hope that you will come back to see us again in the future so that we can provide the excellent accommodations and customer service that you and all of our guests deserve.
Sincerely,
Neal Patel-
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I saw a pretty mixed bag of reviews for this hotel at this site, so I was a little worried when I first checked in. I really didn't need to, however. Check-in was fast, pleasant and efficient. The desk clerks I dealt with were each all kinds of polite and friendly, and actively looking for an opportunity to help me with something. The check-in clerk was quick to point out to me that, unfortunately, the swimming pool was "down". He didn't want me to see a running pool and expect to take a dip. What amused me was that at the end of check-in, he proudly told me that my room has a great view overlooking the pool.

Rooms appear to be recently renovated, with plenty of outlets available for the people who have stuff to charge (and who doesn't?). No kidding; I counted four easily accessible outlets in the (single King bed) room and only one plug was taken up by an existing fixture.

The TV in my room was tube-style; at first the picture was really poor but after a minute or so it settled into something more acceptable. The channel guide provided had pretty much nothing to do with what was actually on the TV. Which is worse, no channel guide or useless channel guide? I'm calling that one a draw. There was a decent number of channels available, although I would have appreciated more news outlets. That's a minor quibble, though.

The bathroom is the older split-style (sink outside, toilet and tub inside), but was also in great shape and had the typical accoutrements (soap, shampoo, lotion, hair dryer). The room had a refrigerator and microwave oven. There was not a coffee maker in the room, presumably because coffee was available in the lobby? I don't know; I'm a tea drinker. At any rate, despite the microwave, cups for hot beverages were not available in my room but they are available in the lobby.

There's a continental breakfast available in the lobby in the morning: two kinds of juices, milk, regular and decaf coffee, tea, stuff to toast, hot and cold cereal and a waffle iron. There may be another option or two but that's all I remember off the top of my head. The one disappointment for me was there wasn't any fresh fruit available. Again, not a huge deal. The lobby wasn't especially busy when I visited, but from the layout I can see where there could be some serious traffic problems if a lot of people are there at one time.

The hotel is located almost literally in the center of everything at this exit. As a result it's pretty much walking distance (or a VERY short drive) to many places to eat, including a Cracker Barrel that's literally next door. It should be noted that the HoJo is a little tough to see from the main road, because it's set back on a side road. You'll have to keep your eyes open to spot it once you get off the Interstate (or use a GPS; come on people, it's the 21st Century).

At any rate, this exit and this hotel was a nice little stopping point for my Baltimore-to-Tampa trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claude C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal P, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Santee, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
We thank you for your stay and hope to see you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santee
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Santee Inn
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#6 of 13 in Santee
184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Santee
Hampton Inn Santee
#1 of 13 in Santee
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Santee
Holiday Inn Santee
#4 of 13 in Santee
241 reviews
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#12 of 13 in Santee
136 reviews
14.7 mi away
Days Inn Orangeburg South
Days Inn Orangeburg South
#10 of 19 in Orangeburg
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Santee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Santee

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Santee
Address: 249 Britain St, Santee, SC 29142-8936 (Formerly Santee Fairway Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Santee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Santee 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Howard Johnson Inn Santee hotel is easily accessible from I-95, offering affordable accommodations in a convenient location. Our pet-friendly hotel puts you within minutes of golf courses, restaurants, and all the region's most popular attractions along the Santee River Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Santee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn Santee
Santee Baymont Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing