We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Santee
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Santee
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible!”
Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

First off... this hotel is under new management and should be advised in the website and it is not. When I went, there were construction workers working horribly. Dust everywhere and I was litterally breathing dust. They were smoking in the lobby. It is disgusting. The rooms are smelly, the MATTRESSES are disgusting. There are bugs everywhere. The carpet is just nasty to even step on.
I went because there were nothing available in the area. After I paid, went in the room... i left with my family to a different place 30 miles down. When i think of how dirty and disgusting this place was... i get goosebumps.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank APeralta5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal P, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Santee, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are disappointed to hear about the inconveniences that you experienced on this particular visit and would like to thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention. We have shared this review with our General Manager so that necessary changes can be made to improve the overall experience for hotel guests. Thank you for all of your feedback. We really appreciate your time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    85
    100
    86
    99
See reviews for
175
132
59
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Danville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

This place is the pits! You know you are in trouble when you're not good enough to be a Motel 6 anymore! TV reception terrible, desk clerk could not find cause. It was that way all over the hotel. Little bitty chips of soap in the sink and shower. Carpet dirty, as evidenced by the "white sock test". Also carpet had holes in it. No kleenex, shampoo, or other complimentary items normally found in hotels. No clock or clock radio. No, we didn't steal it, somebody beat us to it! More good news: the A/C unit and the refrigerator worked well, and we got a good night's sleep, partly because the place was so quiet, since we were almost the only people staying there! I would have complained even it it was free, but to add insult to injury, I paid $50+. AARP/Expedia should remove this property from their list (hint: Super 8 is $5 cheaper and much better!)

Room Tip: Try Super 8!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal P, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Santee, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are disappointed to hear about the inconveniences that you experienced on this particular visit and would like to thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention. We have shared this review with our General Manager so that necessary changes can be made to improve the overall experience for hotel guests. Thank you for all of your feedback. We really appreciate your time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night in November as the midway stopping point for our move to FL. We were 4 adults, 3 large-ish dogs, 2 SUVs and a moving truck. We arrived late (around 9pm) and our three reserved rooms were ready. The 1st floor rooms were unavailable due to carpet shampooing that day, although we were given the option to stay in them if we insisted. We checked the carpets because it would've been easier to stay on the 1st floor, but they were just a bit too damp so went took the 2nd floor rooms. I had requested an adjoining room for 2 of the 3 rooms, but they aren't available on the 2nd floor...no big deal. We had a problem with the AC in one room not working, but the front desk staff gave us no problem with changing the room. Rooms and grounds were clean, beds were surprisingly comfy, and the price for all of us was more than reasonable. There are NO bells and whistles, but we were happy to just find someplace clean and safe that would accept 3 dogs. The lady at the front desk was very pleasant. We would not hesitate to stay here again if traveling with pets.

My only "suggestion" is that the gray paint on the sidewalk and stairs is VERY slippery when wet. Management might want to look into repainting with a less slippery paint. Thanks for a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank smcadam66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal P, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Santee, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are disappointed to hear about the inconveniences that you experienced on this particular visit and would like to thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention. We have shared this review with our General Manager so that necessary changes can be made to improve the overall experience for hotel guests. Thank you for all of your feedback. We really appreciate your time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

The room was a good size, with the usual basics: TV, table and chairs, half-size fridge, and two beds. No hairdryer, iron, or alarm clock. The beds were pretty comfortable, and the bedspreads looked brand new. Don't count on being able to use the free wireless internet - the signal was too weak in the room to maintain a connection. The exterior could use some fixing up, but the rooms themselves, especially the furnishings, are in pretty good shape. For $40 I feel like I got what I paid for. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank littlekat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal P, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Santee, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Thank you for your kind review we hope to see you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

My family stayed here for 1 night on our way to Florida with our Black Lab. It was a perfect stop for us. We requested 2 connecting rooms at the time of the reservation, but they couldn't guarantee them. When we arrived at 9:30pm on a Friday night, they were able to give us connecting rooms. The rooms were just what we needed - 4 beds that would accommodate our family of 6 and our dog, plus 2 clean bathrooms. No frills, no extras, but very clean and nice front desk staff. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lwpearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal P, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Santee, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Thank you for your kind review we hope to see you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2011

No smell to the room. It was beautifully decorated. Had a microwave and a mini fridge. The bathroom was very clean, tub was spotless. The bed was very comfortable, slept like a baby. Super great value and great place to stay traveling thu. WiFi worked super!! Surrounded by Cracker Barrel, Burger King, McDonalds, Wendy's. Offers coffee in am. I will definitely stay here on long trips to Florida. Right off Interstate 95. Super convienient. Great restaurant down street called "Coasters."

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dizzi52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal P, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Santee, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Thank you for your kind review we hope to see you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmaus
Level Contributor
609 reviews
240 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2011

This was a very nice Motel 6. A large, quiet room with a comfortable bed, including a good sized fridge with a freezer, in a nice area at a good price.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bern666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal P, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Santee, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Thank you for your kind review we hope to see you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santee
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Santee Inn
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Santee
Hampton Inn Santee
#1 of 13 in Santee
703 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#6 of 13 in Santee
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Santee
Holiday Inn Santee
#4 of 13 in Santee
238 reviews
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#12 of 13 in Santee
136 reviews
15.7 mi away
Peach Tree Inn
Peach Tree Inn
#1 of 9 in Saint George
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Santee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Santee

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Santee
Address: 249 Britain St, Santee, SC 29142-8936 (Formerly Santee Fairway Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Santee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Santee 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Howard Johnson Inn Santee hotel is easily accessible from I-95, offering affordable accommodations in a convenient location. Our pet-friendly hotel puts you within minutes of golf courses, restaurants, and all the region's most popular attractions along the Santee River Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Santee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn Santee
Santee Baymont Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing