We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful SC State park in the mountains”

Devils Fork State Park
Ranked #2 of 10 things to do in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful SC State park in the mountains”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We spent a pond weekend in April. It's a quiet place in the mountains with not much in the area but nature. A great place for day hikes. Many waterfalls in the area

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bobditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    38
    13
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida (home of the Gators!)
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Loved it, but fix the fireplace!!!”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Really a nice cabin, though my girls were freaked out, "NO WIFI?". We stayed in #3, next time we'll try and get #4 (great lake views). The rangers were nice and helpful. I appreciated some of the other TA comments and would also suggest bringing some of your own stuff. We brought plastic cups and paper plates, just made things easier.

My one, HUGE complaint, is the fireplace, it does not work!!! Smoke fills the rooms (yes the flume was clear and open). Really, I would have given this stay a ONE STAR if just based on the fireplace. Can't believe I stayed in a cabin without a working fireplace... Anyway, still a nice stay...

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank johndfffff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Gorgeous view of Lake Jocassee”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Truly enjoyed the Devils Fork State Park and the scenery around Lake Jocassee. This is one of the only areas to actually view the lake without being on a boat. We traveled up Hwy 133 for 17 miles of beautiful fall foilage and then arrived at the state park to enjoy the mountain view and the lake. Absolutely breathtaking!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank 4business2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Enjoy a day on the water and a night in the campground”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The water was crystal clear and the camp sites were nice. There's a convenient area by the water and restrooms to rent items and buy a sandwich or a soft drink. I was just driving through the area and stopped out of curiosity. I will definitely go back to stay and camp. If you have a boat I think it would be a wonderful place to bring it and the family and spend the day and camp over if you can. The ranger stations hours are 9-5.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank debcar7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Bring a Boat to Enjoy or Stop for the Views”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Review of the park - see other review for lodging.
The setting is absolutely beautiful and the lake and mountains are spectacular. We hiked the Bear Cave Trail, a moderate trail to spectacular views. The hike itself is ok. There isn't much to see, but it was quiet and we enjoyed it. In the spring with the rhododendrons blooming, it would be a beautiful hike! Take the loop for a quieter route as most families with young kids, who tend to be a bit more boisterous, apparently take the short trail there and then return on the same trail.
Unless you bring a boat, a canoe or a kayak, or are willing to rent some pricey ones from the on-site supplier, there is not a lot to do at this State Park. There are two short hiking trails and limited foot access to the lake. It is a boater's paradise for sure. Be aware that unlike some smaller lakes in the area, boats with motors are permitted on this lake. It makes for a less-quiet setting but definitely fun for the boaters! Rental prices can be found thru the link at the park website but an example is $20 per hour for a 2-person kayak. $250 for pontoon boat for 4 hours.
Ranger station is open 9-5. Small bundle of firewood, which refused to burn because it was very wet was $5.50.
Again, the views are amazing! Lake is blue and beautiful. Make it a stop-in visit unless you have a boat or just want a few days of quiet and relaxing, which is sometimes needed.

Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devils Fork State Park also viewed

South Carolina, United States
 

Been to Devils Fork State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing