We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Lake Jocassee”

Devils Fork State Park
Ranked #2 of 9 things to do in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lake Jocassee”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

What a beautiful mountain lake. The park doesn't have a ton going on around it, but if you're looking for natural beauty, you won't find many places better than Lake Jocassee. Rent a boat and search for waterfalls, swim, and fish. This is a very good park on a GREAT lake.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank uscmike1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    38
    13
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great spot for camping and boating”
Reviewed August 11, 2011

My wife and I camped and kayaked for two days here. Excellent shaded campsites with the two disadvantages being that some sites required uphill backing which could be a problem for some trailers. and the sites do not offer boat access to the lake. The lake is beautiful and there are several spots to beach a boat to swim and picnic. There are only two short hiking trails, but they get you to away from everyone and are quite pretty.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank chuckyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Amazing State Park!”
Reviewed July 16, 2011

My husband,our two teenage boys and I just returned home from a week's stay at Devil's Fork. We rented villa #19. The villa was well laid out, adequately equipped, and very clean. It was nestled beautifully above Lake Jocasse, on the street side. We especially loved the large screened porch. The park staff were super helpful and knowledgable.
We took advantage of the dock and beach area reserved for villa guests. The boys fished daily, but to their dismay, caught nothing but little bream. My husband and I simply enjoyed the gorgeous view of the lake surrounded by the mountains.
One day we went white water rafting on the Chattooga River with the Wild Water company and truly had a blast! The guides were excellent and ensured a safe, exciting day trip!
One day we rented a pontoon boat from the Jocasse Outdoor Center and spent the whole day on the lake fishing, tubing, swimming,and wake boarding. The rental was so easy and care free. The staff had every thing ready for us. The lake is huge, so it seemed as if we had it to ourselves. It may have been our best day!
We made numerous side trips. We visited the Stumphouse Tunnel, Whitewater Fall, the Walhala Fish Hatchery, and the Hagood Mill. Each site was definitely worth visiting!
This vacation was so relaxing and easy. We had a great time and will certainly return!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank dsd35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murrells Inlet, South Carolina, USA
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great park!!”
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Campsites are right on the water, do have to climb down some rocks, but nothing my 7 yr old couldn't handle. Crystal clear water, great staff, spacious sites, close to restaurants / stores. Had a great time!!

Visited August 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank goosieloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Comfortable large cabins”
Reviewed October 29, 2010

Stayed at the cabins here. Was too late to get one with an actual view of the lake, but in general, they're large, clean with full kitchens, screened porches, and satellite tv. Jocassee is a great place to kayak. Wrights Creek Falls and climbing up the base of whitewater falls are two fun activities, but if you don't have touring kayaks, the trip will wear you out!

Helpful?
5 Thank Catalyst_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devils Fork State Park also viewed

South Carolina, United States
 

Been to Devils Fork State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing