We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get your grub on at the Gullah Grub”
Review of Gullah Grub

Gullah Grub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Placencia, Belize
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Get your grub on at the Gullah Grub”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We were brought hot cornbread and sweet tea as soon as we sat down. The collards, rice and beans and smoked barbecue ribs were to die for. What a great atmosphere. We got to talking to the owner about all of his adventures and all the famous people that have come there to try this authentic food. We will be going back the next time we go to the beach in that area. Wonderful place for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BernardBarbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    38
    27
    18
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pa
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Drive on by....”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Unremarkable food. Not authentic Gullah......more like authentic cafeteria.

Attentive service. Quaint ambiance.

Only tourists. No locals.

The best thing on the menu was Swamp water = sweet tead + lemonade.

So many better places to eat in the area!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PennEl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“All About Some Gullah Grub”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My partner and I had lunch today at Gullah Grub, and they delivered. We were greeted warmly as we walked in the door, and warm pieces of cornbread were immediately brought to our table. We had the shrimp gumbo plate (which came with collard greens, potato salad, and red rice); and fish chowder with a side of collards. We chose peach cobbler (hot) and cornbread topped with strawberries. Everything was delicious, the service was great, and we had a delightful conversation with the chef and waiter. An all-around delightful experience for us. We like a laid-back dining experience and we were all about this place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gardenmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very laid back-local cuisine”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

It was our first Gullah food, so couldn't judge. We had fish chowder, swamp waater iced tea & loved thier dessert, bread pudding. Best I've had. We loved listening to him about his childhood & the activities he does now. He has a video which he has playing of his latest adventures & that got us really talking to him.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank imarion1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godfrey, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't worry be happy”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We were excited to try Gulla Grub and we were not disappointed. Our rule when on vacation is "No Chain Food, Local Only", Gulla delivered. What some people term slow service or not much pizazz is what I call charm. I love the fact that the people in Gulla are layed back , not in a big hurry and the invite you to be in the same frame of mind, almost like I was having dinner with old friends or family. Our meal arrived in a timely manner, our waiter was polite, answered any questions we had, the food was very good and obviously made from scratch. In my book, a complete success. Thank you Gulla Grub.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1castletown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gullah Grub also viewed

Saint Helena Island, SC
Saint Helena Island, SC
 
Saint Helena Island, SC
 

Been to Gullah Grub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing