We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shrimppppppp”
Review of Shrimp Shack

Shrimp Shack
Price range: $10 - $17
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Shrimppppppp”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

It is a Shack that sells seafood. Seafood is fresh and always good. Try a shrimp burger, they are unlike anything you get elsewhere. Make sure you bring cash. No CC accepted here

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    96
    57
    35
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beech Island, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“great food.”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

good food. very cheap priced food too. only bad part is there only open from 11 - 2 or so. wish theyd be open longer hours. sometimes it is hard to catch them in that time frame. good service as well.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank cowtown036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth the effort”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

It's not fancy (far from it) but it is fresh and will have you graving their shrimp for a long time to come.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keki42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome Shrimp and really good burger”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

This small "roadside shack" has very good shrimp. They are fresh and so are the burgers. They fries are not worth buying but everything else I tried is very good. If you are on the spoiled side I would not stop here. It's like a hut and hardly anywhere to sit. Excellent place to get to go plate to eat at home or on beach.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Badgejunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family of 6 - not 1 fan”
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

I read all the other reviews here but decided to listen to a couple of friends that thought we might like the Shrimp Shack. From the indoor/outdoor seating and walk up grill style service, I could imagine that some reviewers who were expecting Big City country might be disappointed. We liked the style, we were at home with the Christian music playing on the screened in front porch with picnic tables.... But the food was hands down some of the worst we have ever ordered. When my entire family of hearty eaters leaves most of their food on the plate, we have a problem. Please don't go.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Patti N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shrimp Shack also viewed

Saint Helena Island, SC
Saint Helena Island, SC
 

Been to Shrimp Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing