We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How Sweet It is”

Sweetgrass Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Marietta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“How Sweet It is”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The beautiful drive on Dataw Island to get to the restaurant, sets the stage for the lovely dinner venue. Beautiful water view in a cozy yet elegant setting. The service was great, attentive, and professional.

We loved the "put your own together" menu option. The items were imaginative and unique. Hot potato salad, fried deviled eggs, mushroom bruschetta, southern stuffed fried chicken (breast with collards), just to mention a few. The sweet potato rolls/muffins served in lieu of bread are out of this world! The chef is young and really something special. He visited our table and we learned out his route to Sweetgrass....quite unusual.

All in all a fine dining experience with a thoroughly winsome atmosphere. Low Country at its finest.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthernBelle069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    29
    16
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
“Beautiful Restaurant on Dataw Island”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Our family (2 adults, 2 children) had our farewell dinner tonight at Sweetgrass and it was a perfect ending to a wonderful week. We sat on the screened in porch and although it was raining, it was lovely. All of the food was fantastic and the staff was very accommodating. If we ever make it back to the area, we will definitely make a return visit for dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Holy Wow River View Batman”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

A local place located on the picturesque waterways of the Low Country in between the downtown area of Beaufort and Fripp Island Community. Within the marina of Dataw Island is a gem of a restaurant where you can easily spend a few bills but also walkout paying less than $20 for a nice meal and a drink

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Will_M3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner, beautiful location. Kid friendly!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My family spent 2 weeks on Harbor Island and decided to try Sweetgrass on Dataw Island one night. Dinner was fantastic! We had 5 adults and 2 kids and everyone's meal was great. We sat on the back porch (thankfully because the restaurant was chilly) overlooking the marina. My kids were able to run around looking at boats and play on the playground right next door while the adults enjoyed great food and wine. I highly recommend Sweetgrass!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Balt0Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem on Dataw!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Sweetgrass Restaurant is located on the Island of Dataw, a gated community but you can get a pass to go to the restaurant and enjoy the water views from the Marina. The food is delicious and one of my favorites are the crab cakes. Their desserts are all home made and are excellent.
Claudette H.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweetgrass Restaurant also viewed

Saint Helena Island, SC
Saint Helena Island, SC
 
Saint Helena Island, SC
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Saint Helena Island, SC
 

Been to Sweetgrass Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing