We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good service, good view”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Foolish Frog

Foolish Frog
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Decatur, GA
Level Contributor
115 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, good view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Good selection of mostly seafood, well prepared. Nothing fancy, but appropriate for lunch or simple dinner. Nightly specials look intriguing, but we were there at lunch.Large outdoor deck recently renovated overlooking the marsh in addition to indoors. Only real downside was that the home chips were greasy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stevedec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    160
    72
    43
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Batesburg, SC
2 reviews
“What an experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

This small restaurant is located on US Hwy. 21 just a few miles East of Beaufort, on the way to Harbor, Hunting, and Fripp Islands. We have enjoyed their warm hospitality and delicious, freshly-prepared food on several occasions, and each time, it has been exceptional. They have a wonderful, very talented chef that clearly knows his way with fresh seafood. Their "Seafood Bisque" is without exception, the best I've ever had... (and although I make a point to beg for the recipe every time... they're still not willing to share!). The prices are reasonable, the service is prompt, friendly but not annoying, the menu options are varied but not overwhelming, and the salt-marsh views are just spectacular. Parking is convenient but not very large, so come early!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
444 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Not pretty... but very good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

After a visit to Hunting Island, we decided to try the Foolish Frog for a nice sit down lunch. We had been told that it was a very good place to go for good food. My wife and I had the Cracked Okra, Oyster Po-boy, and a bowl of gumbo. Now... that Cracked Okra is one of the absolutely best appetizers that we have ever had. They split the okra then bread it and deep fry it. It is wonderful. The Oyster Po-boy had lots of oyster, even a couple or two that wouldn't fit on the bread. There is lots of good seating including outside dining with a very nice view. This was one of the most pleasant lunches that we had on our trip. We are coming back to Beaufort soon and we will certainly try this one again. You have to admit (well, perhaps not) that there's not much of anything better than a cold beer, fried okra, and a good oyster po-boy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IverJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Foolish Diner is a better name”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Went to FF with old friend I was visiting on a Friday evening. Extremely disappointed. Ordered an appetizer with grits cake, andouille sausage, shrimp, and crawfish. There was no sausage, only the flavor of sausage drippings/grease drizzled on the plate. Mentioned this to the server who responded she’d never seen sausage on the dish, wasn’t sure the menu stated it should be, and said no one had ever asked. I checked the menu and told her, yes, andouille was included. She then said she’d asked the chef/owner, he checked with the cooks, and they said they’d stopped adding the sausage about a month ago. A head chef should know what the line cooks are doing. More importantly, I was not offered the correct dish, nor was I comp’ed for the appetizer. My friend’s lb. of peel-and-eat shrimp were quite overcooked and tough, as was the frozen calamari appetizer.

Overall, a disappointing experience in terms of both food and service. Lovely location overlooking the sound, but be aware that Friday evenings the patio/deck has live music that is so loud one can’t talk – maybe the plan is to numb the ears in hopes the taste buds are numbed as well.

Having eaten my way through the area, I’d recommend Bella Luna on St Helena’s and Plum’s in Beaufort for great food(locally sourced, organic, fresh, interesting) and good service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foolish F, Public Relations Manager at Foolish Frog, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
We are really sorry you had a bad experience at our restaurant. Did you talk to a manager about your meal? We always have a manager or owner at the restaurant and encourage any and all of our customers to share any concerns they may have with them so we can make sure our customers have an excellent dining experience, food and service.
The waitstaff should have contacted our manager on duty so he or she could have taken care of you and your concerns. Our Chef/Co-Owner Will would love for you to call him at 838-9300 so he can discuss this with you.
Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Awesome food and service. Make sure to make reservations on the weekend though, its a small place that fills up for the food and live music! A must if you are in the low country!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foolish Frog also viewed

Saint Helena Island, SC
Saint Helena Island, SC
 
Saint Helena Island, SC
Saint Helena Island, SC
 
Saint Helena Island, SC
 

Been to Foolish Frog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing