We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great History Just Needs More Opportunities to Interact”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Penn Center

Penn Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$60.00*
and up
Historic Sea Island Plantation and Lowcountry Life Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A significant African-American institution in the United States, its mission is to preserve the Sea Islands' history, culture and environment.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great History Just Needs More Opportunities to Interact”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

This is an absolutely amazing and inspiring place and well worth the visit for its history alone as the first school in the South for freed slaves. The staff was amazing and the interactions with them were great. Felt incredible to be in a place that oozed history and was critical a critical cornerstone and organizing locale for the social justice movement. The only thing that would be helpful would be more opportunities to see the grounds and get out in the local community with support on how to make that happen.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ScotQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    50
    20
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
108 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A history lesson worth learning”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

self guided tour with video. You will learn and reflect on the times.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank JeanneFromCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great past but needs a fresh look”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

We enjoyed our visit to Penn Center, which has in the past played a pioneering and vital role in improving the educational and economic prospects of freed slaves on St Helena and other Sea Islands, starting while the Civil War awas still raging. The camous is beautifully set out with plain but gracious buildings and lovely trees but the main focus of interest is the museum. I fear that the presentation of the material in the museum is sadly old-fashioned and that the story it tries to tell is difficult to follow - one can get a bit lost in the accounts of personality clashes at the expense of gaining a full appreciation of the difference the Center made back in the late 19th century. The Center also has a good selection of material (books, CDs &c) for sale about Gullah culture. It would be great if perhaps some space could be found to give visitors an introduction to the past and present state of the Gullah traditions as well as the past work of the Center itself. This is a precious resource and more people should visit it.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank argein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love the guides- they make the experience fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

One of my favorite places in the SC low country. This is a part of the USA that few folks know about and the rich history of the area comes alive here. My children (11&8) found it fascinating as well.

Helpful?
Thank Roaddogflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
273 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“More about the Center than Gullah culture”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

The history of Penn Center and its mission is shown in detail, though the information could be organized better. The articles and photographs are fascinating. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable.

My disappointment was that there was not much information about the Gullah culture itself. When I asked, the staff suggested several books that I could buy, and I am looking forward to reading the one that I bought. But at an institution whose mission is to preserve and share the Gullah culture, I expected to find more information about it.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penn Center also viewed

Saint Helena Island, SC
Saint Helena Island, SC
 
Saint Helena Island, SC
Saint Helena Island, SC
 

Been to Penn Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing