We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Experience”
Review of Days Inn St George

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn St George
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Saint George
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We had stayed at this Comfort Inn in March 2011 and had an okay experience--not a great hotel, but no major complaints. This time, however, was awful. When we arrived, the desk clerk was on the phone with a personal call and proceeded to ignore us for several minutes. When she finally got around to waiting on us, she was abrupt, obviously upset that we had interrupted her call. When we got to the room, we discovered a bottle of cleaning solution on the desk, and in the bathroom was a dead cricket. Someone had stepped on it to kill it but had not removed it. When we checked out the next morning, we discovered we were being charged for a safe in the room that we had not used. When I asked to have the charge removed, the clerk (a different one from the night before) was quite huffy and then did something wrong on the computer so that we were delayed by 10 minutes. This ploy of charging people for a safe and expecting them to ask that the charge be removed is an obvious move to make a few extra dollars on the unwary patron. Just multiply $1.50 by the thousands of people who don't notice the charge--pretty interesting scam. That is one reason I won't stay at Comfort Inn here again--or probably anywhere else, either. There are just too many other choices.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 313 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2011

Stayed 1 night. My credit card was charged 4 times, 4 different amounts! When I called to get it taken care of, the manager was off duty and was the only one who could reverse the extra charges. Was told she would call me back. Still waiting for her call me...........

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JekyllGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

There were dead bugs all over the floor, no toilet paper (even being disabled had to go down to front desk to get more toilet paper), stains (like blood spots) all over the sheets, the TV was so blurred you couldn't even make out what inning the baseball game was in on ESPN (The tv was like 20 years old), no refrigerator or microwave available so had to place medications in ice (including syringes). The desk clerk was nice however but will never ever stay there again as we travel through. So close to interstate you here all the big rigs all night long.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JusticeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

I had researched 12 Choice Hotels between Manning, SC and Hardeeville, SC for a stopping point for a recent trip. I chose Comfort Inn St. George, SC based primarily upon Trip Advisor reviews of these 12 hotels. Secondarily, the number of Choice Rewards points needed for a free stay was also a consideration.

Check in was easy and fairly friendly, but nothing exceptional.

The room was to be a pet-free room. With Choice Hotels promoting their pet - friendly policy, I need to make sure the room I get is a room that is not intended for pets. Well, I couldn’t determine if the room simply had a musty smell or someone recently had an animal in the room, un-allowed. But one thing is certain, the room did not smell clean. In my opinion, a room should have no smell at all. I was assured it was a pet-free room. It did appear very clean, though.

Other than that, the room was quite good. Very spacious with everything you would expect in this type of hotel room. The refrigerator was an adequate size which is always a plus when travelling with food. The AC unit was not overly loud which was nice for a change. Why most ventilation units sound like jet engines, I don’t know. In fact, the only noise was from adjacent room doors closing. Not bad.

Morning breakfast was typical hotel fare which means not much of value worth eating. Sorry about that one.

Location is fairly easy off of I-95.

Check out was about the same as check in.

I wouldn’t mind a stay here again in the future, but in a different room. Actually, if it wasn’t for the uncertain room odor, it would have been a remarkable stay. But keep in mind this isn’t the Waldorf Astoria.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 20_Miles_A_Day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Updated clean rooms with new furnishings. Comfortable bed, microwave, fridge and seating area with table. Curved shower rod. Nice staff. Will stay here on all business trips in future.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelnurse1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Rooms are nice. Older style two-storey motel. Outside corridors. Not a particularly attractive property, but the rooms are fine inside. Parking lot well-lit. Near a very small, quiet town. Eating options limited. Stayed on the side away from the interstate.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garfish53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Our rewards with Choice Hotels allowed us to stay here free. We had a king bed, with a nice sofa, frig, microwave and of course the usual free continental breakfast. We were just traveling on the way back to York, PA from Boca Raton, FL, so this was a great place to sleep. Staff was friendly, making the reservation was easy, and breakfast was adequate. Even though it is right next to I-95 our room was very quiet, bed was comfortable and we slept well. Wifi worked well also.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrewmavenEz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint George
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn St. George
Quality Inn St. George
#5 of 9 in Saint George
178 reviews
5.8 mi away
Peach Tree Inn
Peach Tree Inn
#1 of 9 in Saint George
499 reviews
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#7 of 9 in Saint George
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Santee
Hampton Inn Santee
#1 of 13 in Santee
778 reviews
22.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Walterboro
Econo Lodge Walterboro
#1 of 18 in Walterboro
592 reviews
21.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Santee Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn St George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn St George

Address: 139 Motel Dr, Saint George, SC 29477-7800 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Saint George
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Saint George
Price Range: $67 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn St George 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn St George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Saint George
Comfort Inn Saint George
Saint George Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing