We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, small - shocking tv”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rock Hill/Charlotte Area
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Rock Hill
Grove City
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean, small - shocking tv”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We arrived in the evening. Room was clean - which is great! Flipping through tv channels at 11 pm and stumbled onto an extremely pornographic station. I changed the station quicly - and there was another extremely pornographic station. I do not want to see such things and I definitely don't want my husband and 2 teenage boys to see such things. Mortified. On a lighter note the breakfast bar area was small and awkward to get food with other guests squeezing in instead of waiting for you to finish. Receptionist was a bit offended by my complaint over the porn at checkout, but then softened as she realized that although the channels are included on their package no mother would want to expose her children to such filth.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
1 Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    175
    146
    56
    36
See reviews for
223
121
53
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgeland, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Normally we love Microtels for the affordability and cleanliness. However, this one needs some work. Many of the directional and room signs around the hotel were cracked, missing, or just sheets of paper stapled to the wall. Our electrical outlet was cracked, the fluorescent light flickered, the bedside shelf had been put together wrong, and our window seat had no cushion. The elevator broke down in the morning and its alarm went off twice. The 24-hour coffee station was out of coffee. And here, they don't put bottles of shampoo in the bathroom automatically, you have to go down to the front desk and ask for it. I would have brushed off any one of these predicaments if by itself, but altogether, I took them as a sign of poor management.
That being said, the desk staff and housekeepers were above-and-beyond cheerful and friendly. And to be so close to the Interstate and to Winthrop University, the nightly rates are good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mightymonkey98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stittsville
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stopped overnight on my way north from Florida in 2012 &2013. It's a convenient stop after a 9 hour driving day. Hotel and service is good,rates are excellent. Unfortunately there is no good restaurant within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilford
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Nice hotel. The staff was so friendly and helpful. Except for the girl who had to clean up the kitchen after breakfast. It was almost 9 when breakfast was over and she was taking the items away while we were reaching for them. She didn't understand english and wouldn't stop. We had to grab the butter from her tray as she tried to whisk it away. That was the only negative.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Emery S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rock Hill hotels
2.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Rock Hill
Comfort Suites Rock Hill
#4 of 22 in Rock Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rock Hill
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rock Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rock Hill
Hampton Inn Rock Hill
#1 of 22 in Rock Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rock Hill
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Rock Hill
Courtyard Rock Hill
#10 of 22 in Rock Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rock Hill/Charlotte Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rock Hill/Charlotte Area

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rock Hill/Charlotte Area
Address: 1047 Riverview Rd, Rock Hill, SC 29732-2207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Rock Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Rock Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rock Hill/Charlotte Area 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer FREE Long Distance, FREE High-Speed Wireless Internet, FREE Local Calls, FREE Continental Breakfast, All rooms with Microwave & Frigerator, Hairdyers, AM/FM Clock Radio, Full Cable TV w/HBO, and 25" Color TV. We have over 40 restaurants nearby. Located near Paramount Carowinds, Cherry Park, Rock Hill Tennis & Soccer Complex, Winthrop University, Clinton Jr. College, and Catawba Bingo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rock Hill/Charlotte Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites Rock Hill Hotel Rock Hill
Microtel Inn And Suites Rock Hill
Microtel Rock Hill
Rock Hill Microtel
Microtel Hotel Rock Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing