We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of the cover-up”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Rock Hill
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Rock Hill
Reviewed January 6, 2012

This hotel has done an excellent job of renovating their front lobby to lure guests into staying the night. Once in the room the real picture is revealed. The walls have been repainted, the bathroom is moldy, has cracked tiles and ceilings. The room was very cold despite turning up the heater which constantly turned on and off all night long with no temperture change. Rooms are very small. We will not return and would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkak1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

I regret to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. Nothing in this hotel has been "covered up". We certainly strive to accommodate all of our guests with maintaining our properties through constant upkeep and renovations. If there is a problem reported, it is our first priority to correct the issue. I invite you to stay with us again to see for yourself the changes we have made. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 206 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2011

Hotel is conveniently located and the rate was very reasonable. Staff was friendly and helpful. Hotel lobby and rooms looked to be recently refurbished but the bathroom fixtures are old and the pipes are a little noisy. Our room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. We would definitely stay at this property.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Very conveniently located directly off the highway, just south of Charlotte. Updated lobby/lounge with mini-Starbucks. Rooms were superficially updated (i.e. flat screen TV's, duvets), but bathroom was old & a bit grungy.

The biggest problem with this place is the noise. The walls must be EXTREMELY thin as we could hear conversations clearly from adjacent rooms. Halls were loud (though hotel was virtually empty), highway noise was rumbling, and every step made in the rooms above could be heard.

Our A/C did not work (fan ran, but didn't cool), but we arrived late at night & left early in the a.m. so there was no time to rectify the situation.

Room Tip: Select a room facing parking lot, rather than highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jcd-pvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

This hotel is a piece of trash. Don't stay here. I was there last week and witnessed soggy sunken hallways and room floors, musty bathrooms, water stains on the ceiling and bugs in both beds. After speaking with the general manager (Jennifer), she wasn't any kind of help. She was more concerned with past reviews. Saying"we always get rave reviews." I'm not sure who"s been leaving reviews, but they couldn't have been about this hotel. She assured me that I wouldn't be charged for my stay but sure enough-I was charged. I have been a loyal Marriott Rewards member for almost 10 years but not anymore. I have since started to take my business(150 days a year on the road) away from Marriott and give it to Starwood Properties(W, Westin, Sheraton, Aloft, etc.) because they value the customer first. I will no longer stay at any Marriott properties and I will make sure that my federal co-workers avoid them too.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kappaman09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fowler62, Owner at Courtyard by Marriott Rock Hill, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to vent your frustrations. First and foremost, our guests are our number one priority and we take complaints very seriously. After meeting with the general manager, please let me explain what I discovered. You reported that the hallways were soggy and sunken, the bathrooms were musty, there were water stains on the ceiling and bugs in both beds. After a thorough inspection of the property and rooms that you were in, the head housekeeper and I found no evidence of this being accurate. Ecolab, a leading pest control service, was also called out to the hotel to do a thorough inspection for bugs reported in your room. None were found. Upon further investigation, your credit card was not charged. Your room charge was rebated the day that you checked out. For any discrepancies on your credit card statement, please contact your bank, as we have credited your account. Thank you again for your time, and I regret that you did not enjoy your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

Hotel appears to be recently refurbished. Nice size room. fridge, microwave, balcony (overlooking freeway). Restaurant with some food service until 10, food not prepared on site at 10 but better than going searching for fast food. We arrived at 9:58 and wer still served. Apparently breakfast cooked to order, we will find out tomorrow. New format for Marriott, breakfast not free if you get discount on room. After a few inquiries, and extra $10 we got breakfast for four. Nice sitting are outside of ground floor rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WHHenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

My husband and I stayed one night in this hotel and checking in and out was quick and painless. We arrived late at night from flying from California and the person working the graveyard shift, I think his name was Rob, was very nice and polite. The hotel was clean and we were given a quiet room as both, my husband and I, are light sleepers. We wished we could have stayed there longer but were on our way to Atlanta for a conference.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chizito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

My family and I traveled to Rock Hill, SC for a softball tourney. Our team decided to stay at this Marrriot Courtyard due to proximity to fields. This facility was lovely and modern, having been totally renovated recently. The rooms were large and vey clean (extremely important to us). In addition, the staff was wonderful (especially the kitchen staff).

Only negative is indoor pool was only 4' deep. Kind of boring for teenagers.

Would highly recommend this facility to others traveling to Rock Hill or Charlotte.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank softballmom18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fowler62, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Rock Hill, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2010

Thanks so much for taking the time to submit such a kind review! We take great pride in our hotel, our staff, and most importanty, serving our guests. I will make sure to pass on your kind words to our kitchen staff. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rock Hill hotels
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rock Hill
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Rock Hill
Hampton Inn Rock Hill
#1 of 24 in Rock Hill
695 reviews
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Rock Hill
Comfort Suites Rock Hill
#7 of 24 in Rock Hill
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Rock Hill
Holiday Inn Rock Hill
#8 of 24 in Rock Hill
210 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rock Hill
3.2 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Rock Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Rock Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Rock Hill

Address: 1300 River Run Court, Rock Hill, SC 29732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Rock Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Rock Hill
Price Range: $109 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Rock Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Courtyard by Marriott Rock Hill, TripAdvisor's 2013 Certificate of Excellence winner and Marriott 2013 Silver Award recipient. Enjoy a comfortable lobby space at our hotel in Rock Hill, South Carolina, where you can have a meal or a Starbucks beverage. Whether traveling for business, experience our accommodations and our perfect location near Carowinds Theme Park, US National Whitewater Center, Historic Brattonsville, Cherry Park Softball Complex and Winthrop University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Rock Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Rock Hill Hotel Rock Hill
Courtyard Rock Hill
Rock Hill Courtyard
Rock Hill Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing